Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Wow! This was delicious! I boiled the broccoli with garlic salt and pepper and doubled the walnuts, but left it alone otherwise. SO yummy! I might sautee the broccoli with soysauce and sesame seeds next time for more zip, and maybe add a bit of Thai Chili sauce to my own plate. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Very easy, healthy, and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This is a great combination! Next time I'll add some salt. After I sauteed the onions, I put them in my rice cooker along with chicken broth and rice, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I liked this recipe so much since it don't have to use all those nasty cans of soup that have msg and other chemicals in it - this is a true home recipe. It could use more seasoning, especially for us people who like a lot of salt, but what does that say about us?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This is a delicious combination. The only veg I had in the house was canned green beans so I used those instead of broccoli and it was great for a quick, healthy, vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This is really good and perfect for a quick meal. I have already made this twice this week! You can substitute other veggies for the broccoli too. And no need to precook veggies. Just throw them in the pan the last couple minutes of the rice cooking. They will steam to a perfect el dente.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I really love this recipe! I've made a few times already and love the combination. It's delish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This was a great recipe. It was easy to prepare and very tasty. I seasoned the broccoli with garlic and herb Mrs.Dash with the salt and pepper. Even my husband loved this. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
YUM! This was great! I made it for a non-vegetarian friend and she loved it! Said she would have never thought of rice and cheese together. I used parmesan instead of cheddar and peacans instead of walnuts. I did find it a bit on the dry side however, I think I would add a quarter cup of chicken stock after removing from heat. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was a really great idea, pairing the brown rice (used regular) and walnuts with the broccoli. I used frozen broccoli and next time I will double it. I dissoled a beef bouillion cube in a cup of water as I didn't have vegetable broth. I omitted the cheese because that just didn't seem to match up with the dish to me. Next time I think I'll add diced apples to cook it with and a complementary spice, maybe marjoram. I mixed in the broccoli and it still made an attractive presentation. Thanks for a different and nice "company" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States