Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I was a little skeptical, but routinely have these ingredients on hand so I gave it a try -- DELICIOUS! It's easy, it's quick and you can jazz it up with whatever you like. I'd made it just like this and with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
What an easy and delicious recipe. I preferred slivered almonds instead of walnuts. And, french green beans(frozen:cut up and cooked with the garlic, etc) rather than the broccoli, to go with a perch dinner. Thank you, RE's jrbaker for a fabulous suggestion. I will make this again & again, just changing up what veggie, nuts & cheese, I have on hand. Great recipe, Candice. Thank you, for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
VERY GOOD! I put the rice in a rice cooker with half homemeade vegetable stock (from this site) and half water. Added garlic and onion powder and about a tsp of spread. While that was cooking I steamed the broccoli and chopped it small, toasted the walnuts and shredded the cheese. I actually added the cheese to the rice cooker when there was still a liquid left so that it melted throughout the rice, then tossed the broccoli in as well. I put into bowls and topped with extra cheese and walnuts. My two year old had his without the nuts and LOVED it - always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Great taste! Just a few simple adjustments though... I steamed the broccoli in the microwave instead of just cooking it. I thought cooking it without water would probably make it shrivel. I also used one entire can of veggie broth to make sure the rice was moist and it came out perfect. I baked the dish at the end for about 15 minutes as well with the cheese already added. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Put the rice & veggies in the rice cooker (add mushrooms and cook w/ 1/2 chicken broth)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I really liked this! I made it for my husband because he hates rice. Unfortunately, he didn't like this dish... but I just think he'll never like rice :) I really liked it though, so he'll have to suck it up because I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Not bad. quick,easy to customize. Next time I'll use pine nuts as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyelm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I was very surprised at how good this is. I also made it as a casserole and also used more garlic. I will defiantly be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I liked this recipe. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Really, really good! Everyone in my family enjoyed this, from my husband down to my 10-month-old (sans nuts). I did make a few changes. I added more veggies (cauliflower, broccoli and carots). I didn't have instant rice, so I cooked regular brown rice on the side first, steamed the vegetables seperately, and then added all the ingredients together in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States