Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was really tasty and easy, and came together quickly once everything was chopped, grated, etc. I added cubed pork to make it a complete one-dish meal kinda thing and used chicken broth instead of veggie broth, because that's what I had. I was also too lazy to toast the walnuts but I'm sure that would have made it even better. I mixed everything together before serving and had yummy little pockets of melted cheesy goodness. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This is DELICIOUS!!! I used regular brown rice, doubled the cheese and tripled the garlic and it was very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Yum! Nice combination of crunchy and chewy, with good colors too. I doubled the garlic and used regular brown rice (not instant). I also used two packs of frozen chopped broccoli for a total of 20 ounces (1 and 1/4 pound). My one mistake was to increase the cheese to perhaps 2 cups (double what the recipe called for) as I was afraid it would be too bland, but in so doing I am afraid I upped the calories by quite a bit. 1 1/2 cups might be better. (Say, 1 cup mixed in and 1/2 a cup on top if you're putting it in the oven like I did?) I combined all in a casserole dish, sprinkled lightly with cheese and some of the walnuts (chopped) and baked in a 350F oven. Took it out and left it on the stovetop to cool while I went to the gym and it kept very well for dinner when we got home! Thanks for sharing this healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
cooked rice separately and used olive oil instead of butter - turned out great! i like the crunch of the walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I have made this twice since I found the recipe. I made it with chicken broth both times. It's one of those amazing recipes that I know will be made often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Netsy3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
We really liked this. My kids were a bit scared to try it because it does not look pretty but once they tried it, they loved it. It makes a good main dish for us vegetarians. It has a pretty good amount of protein and not too many calories (due to the large amount of broccoli). So, it made a good rounded dish. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I really liked this dish. I served it with baked fish. I mixed everything together and put in the oven for about 10 min to let the cheese melt. I will for usre make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I thought when I was making this that the ingredients were going to make this taste so plain because they were so simple. Boy was I wrong! This is amazing! Nothing needs to be added, nothing needs to be changed, this recipe is perfect as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Following the advice of others, I treated this dish as a casserole. I used a wild/brown rice blend, which I cooked with veggie broth. Cooked the onion and garlic, steamed the broccoli and mixed it all together with 1 1/2 cups of sharp Vermont cheddar. I baked it at 350 for about a half hour. Simple, but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
The dish itself is fair but mostly tasteless. I added portobello mushrooms, quinoa instead of brown rice and a lot more garlic and nuts and it was a bit better. I t needs more spices or something added to it to make it more tasteful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States