Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
*I* thought this was absolutely delicious, but my husband thought it was boring. However, this is my review, not his! ;) Anyway, I used chicken broth instead of vegetable cos that is what I had. I added a dash of chili powder to the broccoli and used lactose-free cheese. Instead of serving the broccoli and cheese over the rice, I just mixed all the ingredients together in the rice skillet (to make sure the cheese was good and melted, as it tastes weird if it's not) and served from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
My husband and I loved this dish; it adds some zip to plain old brown rice. I used boil-in-bag brown rice, once cooked I added it to my sautéed onion and garlic and put it in an 8x8 glass baking dish. Toped it off with steamed broccoli, feta and pecans, and threw it in the oven while my chicken finished baking. WOW, GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This is sooooooooooooo good! Every vegetarian should have this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
this was yummy. I substituted wild rice for the brown because it was handy and it was a beautiful contrast of colors and textures,dried cranberrys would be a great addition,thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
This was really great! I added lentils as suggested by others. I also used green onions instead of regular and feta instead of cheddar. I increased the recipe to 6 servings instead of four and it was a very filling meal for me and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2003
It's good and simple. Quite a tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
We've just started trying to eat less meat, and as avid carnivores, we had pretty low expectations of being able to do that. But this really yummy! I took another reviewer's advice and added about 1/2 cup of lentils to the brown rice while I cooked it, to make it more filling. I never even liked broccoli before, and now we eat this nearly every week! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
You can't believe how delicious this recipe is just by reading the ingredients. I make it all the time and it's incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
This was wonderful. I made a few changes based upon what I had in the cupboard. I used regular brown rice instead of instant, added more garlic, used 1/2 cup of mexican cheese and a few shots of Tabasco. Yum!! Tasty and filling. I served this with a piece of baked fish. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I was making this recipe and thinking to myself that the ingredients were too easy and wondering how it would combine. I thought it would be pretty boring, but my husband and I really enjoyed the flavours. This was a great recipe and I wouldn't hesitate to make it again. Next time, I will use normal brown rice (not instant) and cook some brown lentils in with the rice when boiling with the stock. I love the combination of lentils, onion and brown rice, so I think it will make this recipe a 5 1/2 star one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States