Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I loved this, my husband for some odd reason didn't but since he's not writing the review I'm disregarding his opinion ;) I added some sliced mushrooms to the onions and garlic while they were sauteing. After the rice was done I stirred in the steamed broccoli and a mix of cheddar and monteray jack cheese. I didn't have any walnuts, so I just sprinkled the top with sliced almonds (the kind you get in the salad section). I'll definitely make this again (though I'll have to wait until my husband goes to the field)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I was looking for something that would be comforting, but not too unhealthy and this was perfect. I used regular brown rice and cooked it with the onions and garlic per the recipe, but used 2 1/2 c. of broth and simmered it covered for 60 minutes. I also cooked the broccoli in my steamer until it was bright green and tender/crisp. I really liked the different textures in this dish. I leave the cheese out since I've stopped eating dairy and it was still tasty and very low in saturated fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This gets 5 stars with the changes I made to it. Before, I found it lacked a little something. I took the advice of many reviewers and made this as a casserole instead. I used real brown rice instead of instant and olive oil instead of butter. I used low-fat cheese, too, and I don't think it affected the taste. I added extra broccoli because we love it and steamed it in the microwave for about 4 minutes before adding it to the rice, onion, cheese mixture. The major change I made was adding shelled, toasted pumpkin seeds instead of walnuts. They seem to add just the right touch of crunch and salt to the recipe. Then I baked the whole thing at 350 for about 20 minutes. My kids love this, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
YUM! I just made this for my 2 year old and myself and we loved it! The only changes we had were regular brown rice and monterray jack cheese. I also think I used about a cup of walnuts because we love them. Now I just have to convince my husband to try it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Marr Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I upped the rice and left out the walnuts (not a walnut person) and found this to be pretty tasty. I also agree with other posters that the broccoli is best steamed, not done in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Decent recipe.....As suggested by others, I cooked the broccoli on the stove, and I used chicken broth instead of vegetable. I think what I didn't care for about this recipe was the toasted walnuts. I guess it's just a matter of taste. I also chopped up a grilled chicken breast and added to mixture in the end. Next time I make it I will omit the walnuts ( maybe sub slivered almonds?) and add more garlic. Overall, it wasn't bad but didn't blow my socks off either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This dish had a different taste. It was good, but I got full after a few bites. I used reg. brown rice. I doubled the recipe, so I cooked 2 cups of rice in 4 cups of vegetable broth. Next time, I will steam the broccoli. The cheese was delicious when it melted on the hot rice. But I think I will gain weight from eating this. Oh well, who cares? Try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This is a quick, easy, delicious side dish. I've made minor changes (omitted the cheese & nuts) and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
this was wonderful... I have made it several times and passed it on to friends... I did not have instant rice so I used the kind you have to cook... I cooked the broccoli on the stove as I prefer it cooked that way. I also used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. Made if for dinner for a few girlfriends with a chicken dish off this site... definately recommend trying it... it reheats great... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Mase Conn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This recipe was fantastic, I read the reviews, doubled the garlic and baked for 20 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States