Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Amazing! I used regular brown rice and steamed my broccoli on the stovetop. We will definitely be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Sorry, this just wasn't good. It was bland and needed something, although I don't know what. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kateskitch
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I give this 5 stars, with a few changes! I doubled the recipe and used 5 small heads of fresh steamed broccoli. I also used garlic-infused olive oil instead of the butter, some sort of low fat cheddar, and left out the walnuts. I cooked 2 cups of uncooked brown rice, and then mixed it with the onion/garlic and broccoli. I then stirred in the salt, pepper, and cheese. I put the whole mixture into a casserole dish and baked it at 350 for about 15 minutes. So delish!!!!.... especially with hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateskitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is good. Added mixed vegtables because that is all I had. I burnt the fist batch of walnuts so I had to roast some more, doing to many things at one time. We ate it as a meal but I think I will make it as a side next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
My husband and I really liked this. I didn't use the instant brown rice, but cooked regular brown rice the whole 45 minutes in the onion, garlic and butter. It turned out sooo good. Didn't have walnuts, but didn't miss them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I prepared myself for a somewhat bland meal when I was making this, but it was not bland at all. I did use salt and pepper s stated but that was the only seasoning. the dish had good flavor in my opinion. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pikesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I printed this recipe 9 years ago, and it's been a go-to ever since. So easy, so hearty (even without meat), so yummy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTRATTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dedham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My husband said it was okay and I liked it, although it wasn't a repeat recipe in this house. I followed the recipe with minor changes...I used long grain brown rice and since I didn't have vegie broth, subbed wth chicken broth. As I was mixing in the vegies and cheese, the mixture looked much too dry so added more chicken broth and about 1/2-3/4 cup chardonnay. Also, it was still a bit bland so added about 1 teaspoon Herbs de'provence. The mixture started looking like a Risotto. I placed it all in a baking dish, sprinkled it with about 1/4 c. grated cheddar and sprinkled it with toasted walnuts. Baked at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes uncovered and 10 minutes covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
We LOVE this dish. Almost any toasted nut is good on top, pecan, almond, etc. I would recommend using real cheese, not the 2%, as it just doesn't melt or taste the same. As others have suggested, I add the cooked broccoli to the rice mix, stir in the cheese, and bake it like a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was really tasty and easy, and came together quickly once everything was chopped, grated, etc. I added cubed pork to make it a complete one-dish meal kinda thing and used chicken broth instead of veggie broth, because that's what I had. I was also too lazy to toast the walnuts but I'm sure that would have made it even better. I mixed everything together before serving and had yummy little pockets of melted cheesy goodness. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States