Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I've adapted this recipe at bit, I don't use instant rice, I use a regular brown and wild rice mix. I cook the rice using vegetable broth, and then add to it the cooked onion and garlic (I use double the garlic). I steam the broccoli, and then add it to the rice, onion and and garlic, mix the cheese through it (I use about 1/2 cup more cheese than what is called for - I like it cheesy) and bake in the oven until the cheese is melted, and then sprinkle the toasted walnuts on top. It's a great recipe, I've shared it with several people who all think it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This gets 5 stars with the changes I made to it. Before, I found it lacked a little something. I took the advice of many reviewers and made this as a casserole instead. I used real brown rice instead of instant and olive oil instead of butter. I used low-fat cheese, too, and I don't think it affected the taste. I added extra broccoli because we love it and steamed it in the microwave for about 4 minutes before adding it to the rice, onion, cheese mixture. The major change I made was adding shelled, toasted pumpkin seeds instead of walnuts. They seem to add just the right touch of crunch and salt to the recipe. Then I baked the whole thing at 350 for about 20 minutes. My kids love this, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
I love all these ingredients except the walnuts. I think brown rice is a hidden secret in our pantry and it alone helped me lose almost 30 pounds!! Any recipe with brown rice I will try. I really liked it except I had to steam the broccoli with water or it shrivels up w/o it. I also put mine in a casserole dish and baked it in the 350 degree oven for 25 mins. and it was all gooey and good!! I also use low-fat cheese cause then its not as greasy. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
DELICIOUS! I just changed it a little bit: In a 10 inch skillet I sauteed about 1/4 lg. onion diced small on low for about 10 mins. in butter and oilve oil. Then I added about 4 sm. cloves of garlic chopped small and cooked for about 1 min. more. Added instant brown rice and fried it for a couple of mins. in the mixture. Added 1 c. CHICKEN broth, brought it up to a boil, then covered it and turned it to super low and cooked it until all the liquid absorbed (10 mins?). Tossed in the frozen broccoli I had already steamed and about 1 c. finely shredded "mexican style" cheese (that's what I had in the fridge). I divided it in two servings (my hubby and I loved it THAT MUCH!) and topped it with the toasted walnuts. YUM! Oh, we also had some baked salmon along with it. The salmon took a backseat to this wonderful rice dish. Thanks Candice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I was making this recipe and thinking to myself that the ingredients were too easy and wondering how it would combine. I thought it would be pretty boring, but my husband and I really enjoyed the flavours. This was a great recipe and I wouldn't hesitate to make it again. Next time, I will use normal brown rice (not instant) and cook some brown lentils in with the rice when boiling with the stock. I love the combination of lentils, onion and brown rice, so I think it will make this recipe a 5 1/2 star one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I would give it a 3.5. I think it needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
Very good, very quick recipe! We used almonds instead of walnuts and added a drained can of kidney beans to make a complete meal since we do not eat meat. Wonderful! Thanks for the great recipe and please keep keep creating in your kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
Great! Added lentils to the rice and this was wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I was looking for something that would be comforting, but not too unhealthy and this was perfect. I used regular brown rice and cooked it with the onions and garlic per the recipe, but used 2 1/2 c. of broth and simmered it covered for 60 minutes. I also cooked the broccoli in my steamer until it was bright green and tender/crisp. I really liked the different textures in this dish. I leave the cheese out since I've stopped eating dairy and it was still tasty and very low in saturated fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
Everyone loved it (including the picky 10 year-old)! I used a whole boil-in-the-bag thing of brown rice (minute rice) and used lots of garlic. A reduced fat cheddar topped it and was well-received (less greasy that regular and just as yummy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States