Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
AMAZING combo! I made this with the Grilled Salmon recipe here and reserved the marinade (used about 1/4 cup) to pour over the rice and it turned into a restaurant quality Chinese dish. I swapped Walnuts for roasted slivered almonds. Baked at 375 for 20 minutes with 1/4c cheese in the casserole and 1/4c cheese on top. Delicious and can definitely be a meal all by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I don't like broccoli that much, but when it's surrounded by cheesy goodness, it's a lot easier to handle. I substituted toasted slivered almonds for the walnuts, which added a nice crunch (and the healthy kind of fat), and baked it at the end like some people recommended for about 15 minutes. I'll totally make it again! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was great! The only thing I would take out next time is the walnuts. I wasn't a big fan of them with this. I would also probably crush up the broccoli smaller in this, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I didn't add walnuts. Instead, I added shrimp and squid because they were just there to be used. I also added lots and lots of cheese. I love any dish that is healthy and delicious, and this dish is sure is! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by modgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Wow! This was delicious! I boiled the broccoli with garlic salt and pepper and doubled the walnuts, but left it alone otherwise. SO yummy! I might sautee the broccoli with soysauce and sesame seeds next time for more zip, and maybe add a bit of Thai Chili sauce to my own plate. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Very easy, healthy, and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This is a great combination! Next time I'll add some salt. After I sauteed the onions, I put them in my rice cooker along with chicken broth and rice, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I liked this recipe so much since it don't have to use all those nasty cans of soup that have msg and other chemicals in it - this is a true home recipe. It could use more seasoning, especially for us people who like a lot of salt, but what does that say about us?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This is a delicious combination. The only veg I had in the house was canned green beans so I used those instead of broccoli and it was great for a quick, healthy, vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This is really good and perfect for a quick meal. I have already made this twice this week! You can substitute other veggies for the broccoli too. And no need to precook veggies. Just throw them in the pan the last couple minutes of the rice cooking. They will steam to a perfect el dente.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States