Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I made this recipe twice. It's really yummy! The only changes I made was to use long cooking rice and threw in a couple handfuls of sliced portabello mushrooms. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
We liked this! I used regular brown rice that I cooked in chicken stock. I mixed the onion/garlic, broccoli, and rice together, topped with cheese, and then baked for about 20 minutes at 350. Added the walnuts on top. Yummy! I think next time I'll add more cheese and might experiment with adding more veggies. I served this with the broiled red potatoes that are on this site. They are my fave! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I really like this combination of ingredients! I would never thought of it myself. This is in my regular dinner rotation. I steam the broccoli on the stove top, I like it much better than the microwave method. I also use regular brown rice, not instant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I think this recipe would be MUCH better with regular brown rice instead of instant rice which has a strange, processed texture. I cooked my broccoli in a steamer instead of attempting to cook it dry in a microwave (without moisture according to the recipe?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
EXCELLENT RECEIPE! I am trying to find receipe's for my daughter who recently decided to become a vegetarian. This receipe is great as written and you could easily add some cooked chicken or beef for those in the family who do like meat. I don't think this was four servings, I would double it next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I really loved this!!! My husband and kids loved it too! I made mine more of a casserole by mixing in all the ingredients (added diced cooked chicken too), topping it with extra cheese and toasted walnuts then baking until hot and bubbly. It was truly delicious and a comfort type of food (yet SO healthy!). Also, I used regular brown rice instead of instant. The toasted walnuts really made this dish for me. Going in my permanent folder!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
yum! I used regular brown rice and added a dash of steak seasoning (just felt like it) . Super, duper delicious and healthy... if you don't go crazy with the cheese. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This was good, everyone liked including the kiddos :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstopka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Delicious. Took other commenter's advice and cooked the brown rice in the vegetable stock, which worked out really well. I might even just cook the garlic and onions in with it instead of sauteing them in fat next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babeltek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I was a little skeptical, but routinely have these ingredients on hand so I gave it a try -- DELICIOUS! It's easy, it's quick and you can jazz it up with whatever you like. I'd made it just like this and with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States