Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My husband said it was okay and I liked it, although it wasn't a repeat recipe in this house. I followed the recipe with minor changes...I used long grain brown rice and since I didn't have vegie broth, subbed wth chicken broth. As I was mixing in the vegies and cheese, the mixture looked much too dry so added more chicken broth and about 1/2-3/4 cup chardonnay. Also, it was still a bit bland so added about 1 teaspoon Herbs de'provence. The mixture started looking like a Risotto. I placed it all in a baking dish, sprinkled it with about 1/4 c. grated cheddar and sprinkled it with toasted walnuts. Baked at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes uncovered and 10 minutes covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
We LOVE this dish. Almost any toasted nut is good on top, pecan, almond, etc. I would recommend using real cheese, not the 2%, as it just doesn't melt or taste the same. As others have suggested, I add the cooked broccoli to the rice mix, stir in the cheese, and bake it like a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was really tasty and easy, and came together quickly once everything was chopped, grated, etc. I added cubed pork to make it a complete one-dish meal kinda thing and used chicken broth instead of veggie broth, because that's what I had. I was also too lazy to toast the walnuts but I'm sure that would have made it even better. I mixed everything together before serving and had yummy little pockets of melted cheesy goodness. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This is DELICIOUS!!! I used regular brown rice, doubled the cheese and tripled the garlic and it was very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Yum! Nice combination of crunchy and chewy, with good colors too. I doubled the garlic and used regular brown rice (not instant). I also used two packs of frozen chopped broccoli for a total of 20 ounces (1 and 1/4 pound). My one mistake was to increase the cheese to perhaps 2 cups (double what the recipe called for) as I was afraid it would be too bland, but in so doing I am afraid I upped the calories by quite a bit. 1 1/2 cups might be better. (Say, 1 cup mixed in and 1/2 a cup on top if you're putting it in the oven like I did?) I combined all in a casserole dish, sprinkled lightly with cheese and some of the walnuts (chopped) and baked in a 350F oven. Took it out and left it on the stovetop to cool while I went to the gym and it kept very well for dinner when we got home! Thanks for sharing this healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
cooked rice separately and used olive oil instead of butter - turned out great! i like the crunch of the walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I have made this twice since I found the recipe. I made it with chicken broth both times. It's one of those amazing recipes that I know will be made often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Netsy3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
We really liked this. My kids were a bit scared to try it because it does not look pretty but once they tried it, they loved it. It makes a good main dish for us vegetarians. It has a pretty good amount of protein and not too many calories (due to the large amount of broccoli). So, it made a good rounded dish. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I really liked this dish. I served it with baked fish. I mixed everything together and put in the oven for about 10 min to let the cheese melt. I will for usre make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I thought when I was making this that the ingredients were going to make this taste so plain because they were so simple. Boy was I wrong! This is amazing! Nothing needs to be added, nothing needs to be changed, this recipe is perfect as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States