Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I printed this recipe 9 years ago, and it's been a go-to ever since. So easy, so hearty (even without meat), so yummy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTRATTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dedham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My husband said it was okay and I liked it, although it wasn't a repeat recipe in this house. I followed the recipe with minor changes...I used long grain brown rice and since I didn't have vegie broth, subbed wth chicken broth. As I was mixing in the vegies and cheese, the mixture looked much too dry so added more chicken broth and about 1/2-3/4 cup chardonnay. Also, it was still a bit bland so added about 1 teaspoon Herbs de'provence. The mixture started looking like a Risotto. I placed it all in a baking dish, sprinkled it with about 1/4 c. grated cheddar and sprinkled it with toasted walnuts. Baked at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes uncovered and 10 minutes covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
We LOVE this dish. Almost any toasted nut is good on top, pecan, almond, etc. I would recommend using real cheese, not the 2%, as it just doesn't melt or taste the same. As others have suggested, I add the cooked broccoli to the rice mix, stir in the cheese, and bake it like a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was really tasty and easy, and came together quickly once everything was chopped, grated, etc. I added cubed pork to make it a complete one-dish meal kinda thing and used chicken broth instead of veggie broth, because that's what I had. I was also too lazy to toast the walnuts but I'm sure that would have made it even better. I mixed everything together before serving and had yummy little pockets of melted cheesy goodness. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This is DELICIOUS!!! I used regular brown rice, doubled the cheese and tripled the garlic and it was very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Yum! Nice combination of crunchy and chewy, with good colors too. I doubled the garlic and used regular brown rice (not instant). I also used two packs of frozen chopped broccoli for a total of 20 ounces (1 and 1/4 pound). My one mistake was to increase the cheese to perhaps 2 cups (double what the recipe called for) as I was afraid it would be too bland, but in so doing I am afraid I upped the calories by quite a bit. 1 1/2 cups might be better. (Say, 1 cup mixed in and 1/2 a cup on top if you're putting it in the oven like I did?) I combined all in a casserole dish, sprinkled lightly with cheese and some of the walnuts (chopped) and baked in a 350F oven. Took it out and left it on the stovetop to cool while I went to the gym and it kept very well for dinner when we got home! Thanks for sharing this healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
cooked rice separately and used olive oil instead of butter - turned out great! i like the crunch of the walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I have made this twice since I found the recipe. I made it with chicken broth both times. It's one of those amazing recipes that I know will be made often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Netsy3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
We really liked this. My kids were a bit scared to try it because it does not look pretty but once they tried it, they loved it. It makes a good main dish for us vegetarians. It has a pretty good amount of protein and not too many calories (due to the large amount of broccoli). So, it made a good rounded dish. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I really liked this dish. I served it with baked fish. I mixed everything together and put in the oven for about 10 min to let the cheese melt. I will for usre make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States