Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
This was really great! I added lentils as suggested by others. I also used green onions instead of regular and feta instead of cheddar. I increased the recipe to 6 servings instead of four and it was a very filling meal for me and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2003
It's good and simple. Quite a tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
We've just started trying to eat less meat, and as avid carnivores, we had pretty low expectations of being able to do that. But this really yummy! I took another reviewer's advice and added about 1/2 cup of lentils to the brown rice while I cooked it, to make it more filling. I never even liked broccoli before, and now we eat this nearly every week! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
You can't believe how delicious this recipe is just by reading the ingredients. I make it all the time and it's incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
This was wonderful. I made a few changes based upon what I had in the cupboard. I used regular brown rice instead of instant, added more garlic, used 1/2 cup of mexican cheese and a few shots of Tabasco. Yum!! Tasty and filling. I served this with a piece of baked fish. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I was making this recipe and thinking to myself that the ingredients were too easy and wondering how it would combine. I thought it would be pretty boring, but my husband and I really enjoyed the flavours. This was a great recipe and I wouldn't hesitate to make it again. Next time, I will use normal brown rice (not instant) and cook some brown lentils in with the rice when boiling with the stock. I love the combination of lentils, onion and brown rice, so I think it will make this recipe a 5 1/2 star one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
I love all these ingredients except the walnuts. I think brown rice is a hidden secret in our pantry and it alone helped me lose almost 30 pounds!! Any recipe with brown rice I will try. I really liked it except I had to steam the broccoli with water or it shrivels up w/o it. I also put mine in a casserole dish and baked it in the 350 degree oven for 25 mins. and it was all gooey and good!! I also use low-fat cheese cause then its not as greasy. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
Everyone loved it (including the picky 10 year-old)! I used a whole boil-in-the-bag thing of brown rice (minute rice) and used lots of garlic. A reduced fat cheddar topped it and was well-received (less greasy that regular and just as yummy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
This is a very healthy recipe...and tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morning*Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
I liked it because it was different, but it had no zing. Needed something extra to give it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States