Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I upped the rice and left out the walnuts (not a walnut person) and found this to be pretty tasty. I also agree with other posters that the broccoli is best steamed, not done in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Decent recipe.....As suggested by others, I cooked the broccoli on the stove, and I used chicken broth instead of vegetable. I think what I didn't care for about this recipe was the toasted walnuts. I guess it's just a matter of taste. I also chopped up a grilled chicken breast and added to mixture in the end. Next time I make it I will omit the walnuts ( maybe sub slivered almonds?) and add more garlic. Overall, it wasn't bad but didn't blow my socks off either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This dish had a different taste. It was good, but I got full after a few bites. I used reg. brown rice. I doubled the recipe, so I cooked 2 cups of rice in 4 cups of vegetable broth. Next time, I will steam the broccoli. The cheese was delicious when it melted on the hot rice. But I think I will gain weight from eating this. Oh well, who cares? Try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This is a quick, easy, delicious side dish. I've made minor changes (omitted the cheese & nuts) and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
this was wonderful... I have made it several times and passed it on to friends... I did not have instant rice so I used the kind you have to cook... I cooked the broccoli on the stove as I prefer it cooked that way. I also used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. Made if for dinner for a few girlfriends with a chicken dish off this site... definately recommend trying it... it reheats great... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Mase Conn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This recipe was fantastic, I read the reviews, doubled the garlic and baked for 20 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I've adapted this recipe at bit, I don't use instant rice, I use a regular brown and wild rice mix. I cook the rice using vegetable broth, and then add to it the cooked onion and garlic (I use double the garlic). I steam the broccoli, and then add it to the rice, onion and and garlic, mix the cheese through it (I use about 1/2 cup more cheese than what is called for - I like it cheesy) and bake in the oven until the cheese is melted, and then sprinkle the toasted walnuts on top. It's a great recipe, I've shared it with several people who all think it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Fantastic! The flavors came together very nicely! I didn't use cheese (I'm trying to eat healthier), and for me the meal didn't need it. I used olive oil instead of butter. This was simple to make, so I will be making this frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
my husband cooked this for dinner for me tonight - it was amazing. he did add turkey mince to it and it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
Great! Added lentils to the rice and this was wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States