Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
YUM! I just made this for my 2 year old and myself and we loved it! The only changes we had were regular brown rice and monterray jack cheese. I also think I used about a cup of walnuts because we love them. Now I just have to convince my husband to try it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUNKEEPUDDIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I upped the rice and left out the walnuts (not a walnut person) and found this to be pretty tasty. I also agree with other posters that the broccoli is best steamed, not done in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Decent recipe.....As suggested by others, I cooked the broccoli on the stove, and I used chicken broth instead of vegetable. I think what I didn't care for about this recipe was the toasted walnuts. I guess it's just a matter of taste. I also chopped up a grilled chicken breast and added to mixture in the end. Next time I make it I will omit the walnuts ( maybe sub slivered almonds?) and add more garlic. Overall, it wasn't bad but didn't blow my socks off either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This dish had a different taste. It was good, but I got full after a few bites. I used reg. brown rice. I doubled the recipe, so I cooked 2 cups of rice in 4 cups of vegetable broth. Next time, I will steam the broccoli. The cheese was delicious when it melted on the hot rice. But I think I will gain weight from eating this. Oh well, who cares? Try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This is a quick, easy, delicious side dish. I've made minor changes (omitted the cheese & nuts) and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
this was wonderful... I have made it several times and passed it on to friends... I did not have instant rice so I used the kind you have to cook... I cooked the broccoli on the stove as I prefer it cooked that way. I also used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. Made if for dinner for a few girlfriends with a chicken dish off this site... definately recommend trying it... it reheats great... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Mase Conn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This recipe was fantastic, I read the reviews, doubled the garlic and baked for 20 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I've adapted this recipe at bit, I don't use instant rice, I use a regular brown and wild rice mix. I cook the rice using vegetable broth, and then add to it the cooked onion and garlic (I use double the garlic). I steam the broccoli, and then add it to the rice, onion and and garlic, mix the cheese through it (I use about 1/2 cup more cheese than what is called for - I like it cheesy) and bake in the oven until the cheese is melted, and then sprinkle the toasted walnuts on top. It's a great recipe, I've shared it with several people who all think it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Fantastic! The flavors came together very nicely! I didn't use cheese (I'm trying to eat healthier), and for me the meal didn't need it. I used olive oil instead of butter. This was simple to make, so I will be making this frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
my husband cooked this for dinner for me tonight - it was amazing. he did add turkey mince to it and it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States