Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I am a novice cook always looking for easy and tasty recipes. This one turned out well for me. I read some of the reviews and adapted it by using regular brown rice instead of minute rice and steaming the broccoli. I also added a splash of wine and some chili powder as I like my food a little spicy. It has turned out well and I plan to add it to my dinner menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Amazing! I used regular brown rice and steamed my broccoli on the stovetop. We will definitely be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Sorry, this just wasn't good. It was bland and needed something, although I don't know what. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kateskitch
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I give this 5 stars, with a few changes! I doubled the recipe and used 5 small heads of fresh steamed broccoli. I also used garlic-infused olive oil instead of the butter, some sort of low fat cheddar, and left out the walnuts. I cooked 2 cups of uncooked brown rice, and then mixed it with the onion/garlic and broccoli. I then stirred in the salt, pepper, and cheese. I put the whole mixture into a casserole dish and baked it at 350 for about 15 minutes. So delish!!!!.... especially with hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateskitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is good. Added mixed vegtables because that is all I had. I burnt the fist batch of walnuts so I had to roast some more, doing to many things at one time. We ate it as a meal but I think I will make it as a side next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
My husband and I really liked this. I didn't use the instant brown rice, but cooked regular brown rice the whole 45 minutes in the onion, garlic and butter. It turned out sooo good. Didn't have walnuts, but didn't miss them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I prepared myself for a somewhat bland meal when I was making this, but it was not bland at all. I did use salt and pepper s stated but that was the only seasoning. the dish had good flavor in my opinion. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pikesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I printed this recipe 9 years ago, and it's been a go-to ever since. So easy, so hearty (even without meat), so yummy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTRATTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dedham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My husband said it was okay and I liked it, although it wasn't a repeat recipe in this house. I followed the recipe with minor changes...I used long grain brown rice and since I didn't have vegie broth, subbed wth chicken broth. As I was mixing in the vegies and cheese, the mixture looked much too dry so added more chicken broth and about 1/2-3/4 cup chardonnay. Also, it was still a bit bland so added about 1 teaspoon Herbs de'provence. The mixture started looking like a Risotto. I placed it all in a baking dish, sprinkled it with about 1/4 c. grated cheddar and sprinkled it with toasted walnuts. Baked at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes uncovered and 10 minutes covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
We LOVE this dish. Almost any toasted nut is good on top, pecan, almond, etc. I would recommend using real cheese, not the 2%, as it just doesn't melt or taste the same. As others have suggested, I add the cooked broccoli to the rice mix, stir in the cheese, and bake it like a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States