Brown Rice Breakfast Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This recipe is wonderful, hearty, healthy and satisfying.I've adapted it to make my own version of "instant porridge". I cook up a large batch of brown rice in the microwave (30 minutes on high). I divide the cooked rice into individual servings (2/3 cup rice in each plastic bag). I add 2 Tablespoons brown sugar, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and a handful of raisins to each and then freeze. At breakfast, remove from bag, put in a bowl and microwave for 1 minute. Stir in 1/2 cup milk, 2 Tablespoons of egg substitute (like egg beaters) and 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Microwave for one and a half minutes. Stir and serve. Instant, healthy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I like breakfast comfort foods and was pretty happy with this recipe. Skipped the egg and thought it came out fine. Tried subbing chopped apple and raisins the first time and used fresh blueberries and almonds the second time I made it. Liked the tartness of the blueberries better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RUBES1
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Fabulous! This kind of reminded me of a cross between oatmeal and rice pudding. It's quick, easy, healthy, and if you have the brown rice, you'll most likely have the other main ingredients on hand. I did not have blueberries, so instead I chopped up some walnuts & threw them in. I put in maybe 3 dashes of cinnamon and doubled the honey. Depending on what you add in, you may want to adjust the sweetness. My family really loved this. Some of us added in fresh strawberries too. I added in the egg, but it was creamy enough even before I added the egg. I think it would be great both w/ or w/o the egg. I've posted a photo of this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I really wanted to skip the egg. I love eggs but it seemed weird. I did it with the egg and it was fantastic. Don't skip the egg you will be missing out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This tremendously SIMPLE recipe was a real and true "find" for me. I don't like Oatmeal but I do enjoy some of the other hot breakfast cereals (e.g., farina, cream of rice, cream of wheat, etc.). At the same time, it just never occurred to me (after 35+ years of cooking for a family of 5!!!!) to use my own rice (or last night's leftovers, even) in order to "present" a nourishing breakfast. This recipe is GREAT !!! You start with the rice and then add whatever else you (and/or your family members) enjoy (for instance, banana, strawberries perhaps even grapes or raisins instead of blueberries; dried apricots, peaches or prunes are also considerations, also). IMHO, the VANILLA and CINNAMON are "MUSTS". As is the BUTTER. But, after that, just "fly" (molasses, white or brown sugar, maple -- or any other flavor -- syrup rather than honey; homogenized milk, heavy or light cream, half-and-half etc. rather than 2%, etc. etc. etc.). My family members are Ruby Red Grapefruit Juice drinkers, so that's what I've been using as our "side". But orange, apple, grape, prune juice, etc. or any one of the available "blends" would be appropriate, too; as would be a glass of milk. Thank you, thank you, thank you, cherry007, for your contribution. My family is eating BREAKFAST again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Defenitely Five Stars!! Was looking for a wheat alternative during a detox and came across this! Although no allergies to wheat, this has become an absolute staple for breakfast. Will be making this for guests. The only change I made was using almond rice milk. I even skipped the honey and it was fabulous, although I'm sure it's even better with it! Absolutly delicious, so glad I found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This is yummy, healthy, easy to make and open to variations/substitutions. I made this with some brown rice I had leftover from the chinese restaurant. The first time I used low sugar pancake syrup (it's what I had), frozen mixed berries instead of dried fruit and omitted the spices and vanilla because I had none. The second time I used regular sugar, lots of cinnamon, a little nutmeg and 1/4 c dried pineapple. I skipped the egg and added salt both times. I love this recipe and will be making it for breakfast every day until I run out of rice and every time thereafter that I have brown rice. A quick note: There is a big difference in taste between using sweet fruits and tart fruits, so you may have to adjust the amount of sugar you put in depending on what fruit you use. The pineapple might have actually been okay without any sugar but I had to add a lot of syrup to the porridge with the 1 cup of frozen berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This is a great way to use leftover brown rice. After reading previous reviews, I substituted dried cherries and toasted almonds for the blueberries but otherwise followed the recipe as is. Very creamy, almost like rice pudding. Will use much less butter, if any next time. It was a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Excellent morning dish for us gluten intolerant folks. Since I am also sensitive to milk, I substitute vanilla coconut milk or vanilla almond milk or vanilla soy milk - whatever I have open in th fridge. I also sub agave nectar (much lower on the glycemic index than honey) for the honey. This may make a good rice pudding dessert with a half-teaspoon of vanilla added after cooking and served chilled with fresh strawberries sliced in a little agave nectar with about 1/4 tsp of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I doubled this recipe. To make this a little creamier, I used half fat free evaporated milk. I threw in more than what was called for of dried blueberries, I want to say I at least doubled it. I also upped the vanilla to a full teaspoon. This was really awesome. Not only is it really cheap to make, but it uses low-calorie/on hand ingredients to make a hearty, warm breakfast. This would be good with almost any kind of dried fruit you have or even chopped apples (which I plan on trying tomorrow morning). I really appreciated this breakfast this morning and all of us thought it was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States