Brown Rice Breakfast Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
this is a good healthy breakfast. I recently found out if you coat the blueberries with flour first they will notcolor the recipe. I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Very good and easy. Due to food allergies I used rice milk instead of milk and agave nectar instead of honey. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Defenitely Five Stars!! Was looking for a wheat alternative during a detox and came across this! Although no allergies to wheat, this has become an absolute staple for breakfast. Will be making this for guests. The only change I made was using almond rice milk. I even skipped the honey and it was fabulous, although I'm sure it's even better with it! Absolutly delicious, so glad I found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Very yummy, and Very filling. I upped the amount of everything to serve 3 and it turned out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PercyPea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This is a great way to use leftover brown rice. After reading previous reviews, I substituted dried cherries and toasted almonds for the blueberries but otherwise followed the recipe as is. Very creamy, almost like rice pudding. Will use much less butter, if any next time. It was a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I don't care for brown rice, but I had part of a bag that I didn't want to throw out, so I gave this a try. It was pretty good! I used more like 1½ cups of rice and I omitted the egg. I also omitted the cinnamon (allergies), added 2 TBS of brown sugar, and used raisins in place of blueberries. Oh, and Country Crock was a little healthier than butter... It was tasty! Not quite as glorious as oatmeal (for me, anyhow!), but a nice change and a way to use up that first-and-only-ever purchased bag of brown rice. Thanks for sharing, Cherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Soooo good! I made this for 1 serving, and used Splenda in place of honey, egg sub and skipped the butter. Also used 1% milk and fat free half and half. Tasted like dessert:-) Was yummy and nutritous...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was okay but I thought it needed a bit more sweetener...a sprinkle of brown sugar made it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Followed recipe exactly did not taste as yummy as I thought it would. If I was in the woods camping I think I would really like it. Will take on next trip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EatsBooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I enjoy hot cereals and this was delicious. I put in cranberries this time and next time I will put in golden raisins. Thanks for a new hot cereal fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States