Brown Rice Breakfast Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This is a great alternative to oatmeal in the morning. I made it vegan by using almond milk and taking out the butter and egg I also added some butternut squash puree and flax seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Mmm, so good! I used soy milk instead of lowfat, fresh blueberries (which gave it a cool, blue tint), and no butter. It's a great way to use leftover rice and most important, it's super tasty! Thank you so much for this recipe, I will definitely be making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I love it! What really surprised me was that my son liked it. He can be so picky...guess we'll be keeping this recipe around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This was the perfect way for me to use up some leftover brown rice from dinner two days ago! I am pretty health-conscious so I made a few changes to lighten this up just a little. I used unsweetened almond milk instead of 2% regular milk, used a little splenda to sweeten it instead of honey, and added some extra cinnamon. I didn't have dried blueberries, so I made it without the fruit on the stove and then stirred in some fresh strawberries and blueberries before serving it. I didn't even add the butter at the end and it turned out so creamy! My version was really tasty, so I can imagine that the "full fat" version would be DELICIOUS too :) Thanks for the recipe- I'll never throw away dry leftover brown rice again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
To speed things up, and to create a smooth-textured semolina-like end-product, I put the cooked brown rice (previously cooked in a rice-cooker) in a blender with rice milk, water, raw egg and vanilla, and blend till smooth. The mixture goes into a pot, a variety of dried fruit is added, and brought to the boil. When hot, the heat is turned off, a lid is put on the pot, and the porridge is left to stand for about 20 minutes to allow the heat to soften the fruit. It is like having a dessert for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
It was good. I used stevia and agave in place of the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is a good way to use up extra brown rice on hand. This was my breakfast for 3 mornings in a row. A good change from oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
this was surprisingly good! will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Simple and delicious--rice pudding for breakfast! I added maple syrup, raisins and walnuts to mine and used non fat milk--it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This is really good! I usually only have fresh or frozen blueberries, so I just add them before serving along with some kind of nut - pecans are super. This would be great with any kind of berry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States