Brown Rice Breakfast Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Yum, yum! Dessert for breakfast! I used dried cranberries and was liberal with the honey, cinnamon and vanilla. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong but this didn't turn out that great. It didn't taste like porridge but rather like rice cooked in milk. Covering the pot while it is simmering might help. I may try putting it all in a blender for a creamier consistency. I didn't add butter since I consider it unnecessary fat. Added fresh blueberries after it was done cooking rather than dried. I don't like porridge super sweet but with this I found I had to add sweetener. I really like brown rice so I will experiment with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Used Fresh Blueberries (added at end)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aaron Van Lieu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Yum, My two year old loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Yummy! Followed the recipe except used almond milk in place of milk, Earth Balance in place of butter and halved both the egg and the butter. Subtle but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I have a finicky eater at home (hubby) he didn't like it, so I have to note that for my self. I loved it! I gave it 5 stars. He gave it 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanna be cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Excellent way to use leftover brown rice. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Very good comfort food. Everyone in my house enjoys this. I usually omit the butter and add a little bit of brown sugar. And fresh blue berries on top. Some nice variations are to cook in some banana slices along with the blue berries. Or use cranberries instead. Next time I make I'm going to use blackberries. If you use frozen berries and it makes it runny, allow to boil for around 5 minutes to get rid of excess water and then simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This did not turn out as expected. My bride would not eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This is a great alternative to oatmeal in the morning. I made it vegan by using almond milk and taking out the butter and egg I also added some butternut squash puree and flax seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States