Brown Rice Breakfast Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Really good, very hearty. Tried this using almond milk instead of cow's milk (I'm lactose intolerant), and the texture was a little strange. It didn't thicken up quite like it should have, and I'm assuming this is why, since everything else was the same. But the flavors are excellent, and it's very filling. I'll be making this again, most likely with regular milk - and will keep my Lactaid handy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very tasty! My daughter loved it (she's a big oatmeal fan). I used raisins and brown sugar instead of blueberries and honey since that's what I had on hand. A keeper for when we have extra cooked rice on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Wonderful texture. Left out the egg and was completely satisfied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
We love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Absolutely Wonderful, I followed the recipe to a T except subed raisins for the dried fruit. This taste great!!!! I will be making again for sure :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This was perfect for my left over rice! I added extra blueberries since I had about 3 tablespoons frozen and I did not add the butter. Since I am gluten free, it's a great substitute for oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Bland and an unappealing blue color to the rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Excellent morning dish for us gluten intolerant folks. Since I am also sensitive to milk, I substitute vanilla coconut milk or vanilla almond milk or vanilla soy milk - whatever I have open in th fridge. I also sub agave nectar (much lower on the glycemic index than honey) for the honey. This may make a good rice pudding dessert with a half-teaspoon of vanilla added after cooking and served chilled with fresh strawberries sliced in a little agave nectar with about 1/4 tsp of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Gomen Diaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Made vegan version. Replaced 2% with vanilla almond milk (vanilla soy would have worked, too), replaced honey with agave, deleted the egg completely, used soy margarine instead of butter. Sounds like a lot of substitutions, but I used the exact same proportions swapping animal products for vegetarian ones. Absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Racedogmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Grantsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Delicious! I used rice milk instead of regular milk. I didn't have any dried blueberries, so I used raisins; also threw in some walnuts. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States