Brown Rice Breakfast Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
Excellent alternative to oatmeal. I used 1/4 cup real maple syrup instead of the honey and added 1/2 a chopped fresh peach along with the dried blueberries. Forgot the butter and didn't miss it. Also added some nutmeg to the cinnamon. Quick easy, and VERY tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Chelpka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
This was really good! We used dried cranberries in place of the dried blueberries and served it with some cream and maple syrup on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Just got home from the Chinese restaurant with leftover brown rice. Searched the site, saw the reviews and decided to try this recipe. Absolutely delicious way to use leftover rice. So versatile use your favorite fruit and the sweetener of your choice. I used cranberries and blackberries as that is what I had. Ate some hot, was so good, just letting it cool and will have for breakfast tomorrow. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I've never had porridge before so I was sceptical but it turned out great. I used almond milk instead of 2% milk which helped with minimizing the tart taste. I did add a teaspoon of brown sugar. I will definitely make again however I will add apples and nut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I look forward to making this every time I have rice. I'm obsessed with it! It is delicious. I have made it as is, and with a variety of substitutions. I have used white rice. I also have used coconut, almond, and soy instead of the milk. Many different fresh, frozen, and dried fruits, or preserves can be used instead of the blueberries. Fresh and frozen (thawed) are best added at the end. And any sugar or syrup can replace the honey. Also it can be made without the fruits or sweetener, and those things can be served on the side so people have choices. Oh and I always add the egg. You are missing out if you don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Straw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Really tasty (without the egg yolk, fresh strawberries instead of dried blueberries) but i gotta say I didn't try it earlier because the picture looks SOOOO awful. I had looked for a good brown rice pudding recipe and wanted to try this, but every time i looked at the photo I didn't think it looked appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Made this with our leftover rice from last night! Delicious breakfast treat. It look/smelled good even before I added the eggs and butter. Next time I will try leaving those ingredients out for a more healthy dish! Thanks, we loved this one! BTW, the nasty purple picture must be someone's idea of a joke. Be sure to look at all the pictures before passing this one by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
mmm soooooooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This is a great way to use brown rice, and a nice alternative to oatmeal. I used almond milk, left out the blueberries (didn't have any), used more cinnamon (I am a cinnamon fan!), and used a little Stevia as a sweetener instead of honey - turned out fantastic. This would be good with a variety of fresh or dried, such as apples, bananas, raisins (more like rice pudding!), so it is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I am so happy I tried this-it is very good and such a great way to use leftover brown rice from dinner! I put in fresh strawberries diced and dried mango diced. I was completely out of butter so I substituted 1 Tbsp. Coconut Oil. This was so good. Is defidently on our menu forever-I am sure I will be trying lots of differant fruits in this. Thank you so much for this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States