Brown Rice Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Didn't use bread machine, baked for about 40 min at 350F. The brown rice gives it texture and a slightly sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2001
This was a really great tasting loaf of bread. It was so moist and smooth. I've never made bread in my bread machine, except from a mix before, and it was so delicious! The whole family loved it! However, I did cook the rice for 40 minutes until it was fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
We have tried it with different rices and all turn out wonderful. It is perfect for toast and it also makes the BEST grilled cheese sandwiches ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagle River, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is a good loaf of bread but the brown rice does need to be fully cooked for our tastes. I served this with curried carrot soup also from this site and it was a good pairing. Thanks Dan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I set my machine to the dough cycle, and then kneeded the dough in some extra flour until it was smooth. I formed a loaf and set it to rise in a bread pan, then baked at 350 degrees for 30-35 mintutes. This turned out beautifully, and I'll definately keep the recipe. Great way to use up leftover rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I made some alterations in this recipe to make the bread less glycemic. I used 1/4 c. all-purpose flour with the water and yeast to make a sponge. I then used 3/4 c. gluten, 1 c. cooked brown rice, and 1 c. whole wheat flour (plus a little more to knead). The bread didn't rise as high as I would have liked, but it tasted great--just a little bit sweet, chewy, and soft. Next time I will use less rice and more whole wheat flour. I think it would have been perfect if I had done that this time. I'm also going to try it with wild rice. Thanks Dan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happycooker
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I would actually give this recipe four and a half stars. It's very tasty however I think that the rice needs to be cooked for the full 40 minutes that it takes to cook brown rice. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Excellent bread. I didn't have bread flour, all I had was whole white wheat flour(which is a little more heavier than reg flour but lighter than whole wheat) and all purpose flour. Baked it in the oven, and came out great. The boys loved it. We will keep this one and make regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
A great recipe! Instead of the rice you can use Bulgur (or Burgul-which is Toasted cracked soft white wheat) that was immersed in boiling water for 30 minutes or so (until softened).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
We liked this bread although we didn't notice too much difference from our regular oat/white bread. I would definately make it again as I like the idea of having the healthy brown rice in it. I will try it with wheat flour and oats added. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States