Brown Rice Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This made a lovely loaf! I added a bit of rye flour (~1/4 c) mostly for visual appeal ;) The dough was really sticky (it's July by the coast so the flour has a lot of humidity) - not sure if that was just me or if the recipe tends to be wet - remember to touch the dough during mixing & add a bit of flour at a time if needed. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is a good loaf of bread but the brown rice does need to be fully cooked for our tastes. I served this with curried carrot soup also from this site and it was a good pairing. Thanks Dan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I used half white and half whole wheat flour. It is the nicest loaf of bread I have made. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I was quite impressed - you'd never know there was rice is this recipe ... which is a good thing as my huband can't stand brown rice. I, too, used 2 cups bread flour, 1 cup wheat, and added a dash of gluten stuff (can't remember name if it and too lazy to get up and look) to ensure a nice rise. Used brown Jasmine rice which gave it a lovely scent (cooked rice for 35" to ensure it was done) Baked @ 350 for 35" - lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Really good. I didn't use a bread machine but it doesn't matter it made a great tasting loaf of bread. I did use 2 C White flour and 1 C whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALAWLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I ended up using white rice since that is what we had on hand. This had a very nice texture, but a similar taste to a normal white bread. I plan to try this with the brown rice to see if it is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I added 1/2 cup wheat germ and some extra sugar. Otherwise, I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Nice, chewy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Excellent bread but make sure the brown rice is completely cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happycooker
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I would actually give this recipe four and a half stars. It's very tasty however I think that the rice needs to be cooked for the full 40 minutes that it takes to cook brown rice. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Turned out lovely!!Too good. I just used 1/3 whole wheat flour. Thanks for a great recipe. I don't have a bread machine. I let it rise twice, then shaped , raised again and baked at 350 F for 40 mins. Perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States