Brown Jug Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
I loved this soup, but my only concern was that it was very salty. I think omitting the boullion would reduce the sodium content without compromising the flavor. I also used light "Velveeta" and reduced fat cream of chicken soup to lower the fat content. Very good on a cold day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
Easy after work recipe that you can just throw together. I sometimes use just regular water in place of chicken broth and throw in cut up smoked sausage. Both the sausage and broth would make the soup too salty-especially with the Velveeta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
I made this to put into the Italian Bread Bowl recipe. This soup was really, really good. Even the super picky 8-year old wanted seconds. I did make some changes, replaced one of the chicken bouillon’s with a beef bouillon cube, a few dashes of mustard powder and a teaspoon of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oldsmar, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I thought this was okay. Maybe a little too cheesy for my taste. Then I grabbed some leftover Christmas turkey and threw that in...it made a world of difference! So much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefnine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Florida, USA
Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Delicious soup. Very easy to make. I have never been very good at making soups or gravies. I looked it over, had all of the ingredients and decided to give it a go. Since my wife loves soup, even if it wasn't all that good it would still get eaten. Everybody loved it! This one will go in the comfort food file and be cooked often. Thank you Jackie for such a great recipe. I made this soup again (a week later). Today I did everything as per the directions except I used a head of fresh cauliflower from the farmers vegetable stand. Once again, "souperb". Did not have to add any seasonings or even salt. Thank you Jackie for a perfect creamy cheese based soup that I can do just about anything to without worry of ruining it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I make a soup that tastes very similar to this but my dh always complains it's too thin--he likes a very thick soup. This was Perfect. Both of us liked it so much better than the recipe I have. It's thick, creamy, chunky.....YUM. I didn't have any mixed veggies so I just added whatever leftovers I had in the fridge (some corn and carrots) along with the broccoli. I can't express how yummy this was. My two little ones loved it. My youngest kept stealing spoonsful while the cheese was still melting. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Ravena, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
Yum - think cheesy vegetable soup. Very good and very easy. I used a low sodium chicken broth instead of boullion and it wasn't too salty at all. I might add just 1/2 the celery next time. This was really, really tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
I thought this was very good. I agree it was slightly salty, but I definetly would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
My kiddos (5, 3 and 2) love this soup and so does hubby. I did sautee my onions and celery with one clove of garlic before adding it to the soup. I also added a bay leaf while it simmered. I did not use the broccoli instead I used two 12oz bags of mixed veggies. I would have given it 5 without these changes but for personal preference will do it the same next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Hubby and I really liked this. My kids, not so much, thus the reason for the 4 stars. Was super easy though. Wish my kids would have liked it as I usually have all the ingredients on hand. Will make again, but scaled down a bit for me and hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States