Brown Jug Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This was a really easy soup to make and went over well with my husband. I did make a few small changes, threw in some left-over mashed potatoes from last nights dinner, added a smoked ham hock and more fresh vegies...such as squash, oh and used a mix of chicken broth and beef broth from the can instead of cubes. Very tasty and would feed a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZIEAPPLES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
I made this for a soup potluck and mine was the only one scraped clean! I like larger potato chunks, so I had to cook it for almost an hour. So give yourself enough time, but this is a VERY yummy, easy-to-make soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I made this for myself thinking no one would like it, and there wasn't a drop left! Cute name, but even better soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This was really good, cheesy and healthy. I used red onion, which we like. My picky son even liked it. I might try adding a little ground beef next time. Definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I made this the day after Thanksgiving and I was wonderfully surpised at how good it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
Yum - think cheesy vegetable soup. Very good and very easy. I used a low sodium chicken broth instead of boullion and it wasn't too salty at all. I might add just 1/2 the celery next time. This was really, really tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
This soup is my kid's favorite. I've made it lots of times and never the same way twice. I sprinkle the top with shredded cheddar cheese ~ YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
I made this to put into the Italian Bread Bowl recipe. This soup was really, really good. Even the super picky 8-year old wanted seconds. I did make some changes, replaced one of the chicken bouillon’s with a beef bouillon cube, a few dashes of mustard powder and a teaspoon of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oldsmar, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I tried this recipe almost two years ago and my family loved it. This Thanksgiving, I made it, as the weather had cooled. Everyone loved it! Everyone asked for the recipe. This is sooooo good, hot, hearty and cheesey. Hats off to this recipe donator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
Easy after work recipe that you can just throw together. I sometimes use just regular water in place of chicken broth and throw in cut up smoked sausage. Both the sausage and broth would make the soup too salty-especially with the Velveeta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States