Brown Family's Favorite Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This recipe has become my family's favorite Thanksgiving and Christmas staple. It is a different texture, but we like it better than the traditional pumpkin pie. The texture is whipped versus dense. Make sure to use a deep dish pie shell; I add 1 teaspoon vanilla and 1 teaspoon of brandy; make sure to prepare steusel topping before putting pie in oven-there is not enough time to make streusel topping after it goes into oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
So good that my family took all of it home and left me with the plain, boring pumpking pie. So, naturally, I had to make another to keep all to myself! The only thing I did differently was using pecan instead of walnut. It fit the Christmas spirit better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liannas Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Very yummy! The second time I made this I jumped the gun and added the streusel topping right away rather than waiting. It actually turned out great. I will try it again to see if i just got lucky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DML cooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Very good. I did not do the streusel topping, just wanted a "regular" pie. I doubled cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg, because I like a spicier pie. Next time will do topping. Thank you! Update: When writing the first review, I did as directed except I didn't separate the eggs. Didn't even see that step. Did this recipe again - this time realizing to separate the eggs, and I left spices as written. Did not like so much; much prefer first version I did. As written, not enough pumpkin taste and too bland; although the texture was fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MELLESAN
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Used golden hubbard squash and the pie turned out light and not too sweet. Not as dense as the typical "out of the can" pie which was nice. The topping gave it all the sweetness it needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Wasn't my family's favorite. It just didn't suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I was a little reluctant to try this one because of the crumbly top but we loved it. Followed the recipe to the letter. It tasted even better the next day after the spices had more time to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Loved it! Great classic pumpkin pie and the topping is a yummy addition. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Absolutely the best pumpkin pie I've ever made. Followed the recipe as printed but did add a little extra of all the spices as someone else had suggested. Fabulous! Compliments from all who tasted it. This will be my only pumpkin pie recipe from now on. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Destineebb
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This pie turned out amazing! I used all organic ingredients and wow does that make a difference. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destineebb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona Del Mar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 815) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States