Brown Family's Favorite Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
If I could give 6 stars, I would. I receive nothing but rave reviews whenever I make this pie; friends, family, coworkers have all loved it! Whenever there's a potluck style function, this is what I bring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poorbachelorguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I don't like pumpkin pie but I have to admit, this one changed my mind forever!!! This is incredible. The topping only added to the wonderful flavor and texture. I made it for my son for Fathers Day because he doesn't like cake or cookies. I can never thank him enough for his choice. So happy I found this recipe! I followed the recipe to a "T", except we also used pecans instead of the walnuts. The recipe also made 2 9" inch deep dish pies so we were able to share the goodness with a friend. Thank you Brown family, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I've made many pumpkin pies before and this is a simple recipe to follow. The texture was off and it was very mushy inside. Also, there was almost no spice flavor to it. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Royall
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Made this pie (finally, it's been in my recipe box for over a year!) for Christmas dinner and party at a good friends house today I really like the flavor. I do like traditional pumpkin pie but this is just a little step above. I'll make this one again but will still like the Libby's recipe for a real basic pie! I did double the spice per one reviewer. I doubled the recipe for two big deep dish pies, so when I doubled the spices, I used "rounded" measuring spoons. That worked fine. I also doubled the topping and used it all but about 1/4 cup. There again, when I doubled the topping, it should have been 4TBS of flour but used 8TBS per another review. Cut very cold butter into the flour/spices. I used pecans rather than walnuts just because I like them better! I did not add the nuts to the topping mixture but sprinkled them on top of the topping mixture after it was divided between the two pies. I had chopped 2 cups of pecans but stopped after putting about 1/2 cup on each pie. Just looked like it was more than enough. Again, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Huge hit! Everyone loved the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Best pumpkin pie ever! Original serving size makes two pies. Used pecans instead of walnuts. GUESTS COULDN'T STOP RAVING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I made this pie last week for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. Everyone raved about it, even the kids. Next year I will have to make two, because everyone wanted seconds. I made the pie filling the same, but I made my own crust. I have perfected a gingersnap cookie crust that paired very well will this pie. Thanks for the recipe. I will be making this alot next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Loved this pie recipe and will now use this as my only pie recipe!!! Modifications: 1 tsp fresh ground ginger, instead of 1/2 tsp store bought 1 tsp all spice, instead of 1/2 tsp nutmeg Organic Pumpkin Cram cracker crust Pecans instead of walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Rodgers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have been making this pie every year since I've got married- 11 years! My husband has told me that this is THE BEST pumpkin pie. Better then his mother's and she is THE PIE QUEEN. I love the texture of this pie ,but I have few modifications: less ginger - 1/4 tsp( not my favorite spice) and 1/4 tsp allspice. Also always pecans instead walnuts. My pie is in the oven and this year my 9 year old daughter is making it! It is so easy. !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving last year and made it again tonight! AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 820) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States