Brown Family's Favorite Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
If I could give 6 stars, I would. I receive nothing but rave reviews whenever I make this pie; friends, family, coworkers have all loved it! Whenever there's a potluck style function, this is what I bring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poorbachelorguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I don't like pumpkin pie but I have to admit, this one changed my mind forever!!! This is incredible. The topping only added to the wonderful flavor and texture. I made it for my son for Fathers Day because he doesn't like cake or cookies. I can never thank him enough for his choice. So happy I found this recipe! I followed the recipe to a "T", except we also used pecans instead of the walnuts. The recipe also made 2 9" inch deep dish pies so we were able to share the goodness with a friend. Thank you Brown family, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I've made many pumpkin pies before and this is a simple recipe to follow. The texture was off and it was very mushy inside. Also, there was almost no spice flavor to it. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Royall
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Made this pie (finally, it's been in my recipe box for over a year!) for Christmas dinner and party at a good friends house today I really like the flavor. I do like traditional pumpkin pie but this is just a little step above. I'll make this one again but will still like the Libby's recipe for a real basic pie! I did double the spice per one reviewer. I doubled the recipe for two big deep dish pies, so when I doubled the spices, I used "rounded" measuring spoons. That worked fine. I also doubled the topping and used it all but about 1/4 cup. There again, when I doubled the topping, it should have been 4TBS of flour but used 8TBS per another review. Cut very cold butter into the flour/spices. I used pecans rather than walnuts just because I like them better! I did not add the nuts to the topping mixture but sprinkled them on top of the topping mixture after it was divided between the two pies. I had chopped 2 cups of pecans but stopped after putting about 1/2 cup on each pie. Just looked like it was more than enough. Again, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Huge hit! Everyone loved the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Best pumpkin pie ever! Original serving size makes two pies. Used pecans instead of walnuts. GUESTS COULDN'T STOP RAVING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I made this pie last week for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. Everyone raved about it, even the kids. Next year I will have to make two, because everyone wanted seconds. I made the pie filling the same, but I made my own crust. I have perfected a gingersnap cookie crust that paired very well will this pie. Thanks for the recipe. I will be making this alot next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Loved this pie recipe and will now use this as my only pie recipe!!! Modifications: 1 tsp fresh ground ginger, instead of 1/2 tsp store bought 1 tsp all spice, instead of 1/2 tsp nutmeg Organic Pumpkin Cram cracker crust Pecans instead of walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Rodgers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have been making this pie every year since I've got married- 11 years! My husband has told me that this is THE BEST pumpkin pie. Better then his mother's and she is THE PIE QUEEN. I love the texture of this pie ,but I have few modifications: less ginger - 1/4 tsp( not my favorite spice) and 1/4 tsp allspice. Also always pecans instead walnuts. My pie is in the oven and this year my 9 year old daughter is making it! It is so easy. !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 811) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States