Brown Family's Favorite Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Amazing. I've made it 3 times in 2 wks and my husband just keeps buying pumpkins and begging for more! I use fresh pumpkins for it, and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Well on behalf of my family, I give this a 5 star rating. My dad who is SUPER picky, said it was the best pumpkin pie he has EVER had. And I had lots of others say it was great. I did use real pumpkin, I don't know if it changes the consistancy or what have you, but I thought the pie was quite moist. I would like to try it with pumpkin from a can. Considering this was my first pumpkin pie ever, and one of the first pies I've ever made, I think it turned out pretty good. I did love the topping, and Im not a walnut fan. Also I didn't feel that there was enough spice in the pie. I like it really spicy to bring out the pumpkin flavour. I even baked the pie a day before hand hoping the flavours would come out. So I would probably add more spices. I will definatly try this pie again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This pie is wonderful. So quick and easy to make. It's light and has just the right amount of sweetness. The only change that I made was omitting the nutmeg (didn't have any) and I added some cloves to give it the flavor of my usual pumpkin pie. I used a regular 9" pie plate and had difficulty adding the nut topping. It kept rolling off the rounded top of the filling so a deep dish plate would be a better choice. I think that the nut topping sets it off nicely as a notch above the average pie. Just be careful not to burn the crust. I covered the whole top with fold about 15 minutes before it was finished. I will be serving this for my Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I am not sure I understand this pie. The topping did not seem to go with the filling. The spice blend seemed very off and the filling was not very sweet like a pumpkin pie. No one ate more than one piece after trying. Not sure what was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Great recipe! Only had white sugar on hand for the streusel, so I added a glob of honey (just for the flavor). Kids both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Credit, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was my first time making pumpkin pie and it turned out pretty good. I didn't add the streussel topping though - it just doesn't seem right on a pumpkin pie. Anyway, this pie was no better or worse than any other store-bought pie I've ever had, but it was really easy to make (although it is by no means made "from scratch"). Thus, 3 stars. I would make this pie again, but will keep searching for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
this was excellent,used the pie receipe from the libby's can, but left out all the spices except cinnamon and added some kalua instead of vanila. forgot to put in two tablespoons of flour, which I thot was a good thing, because the topping (I used pecans instead of the walnuts, much better)wasn't as died out or as hard, because the nuts help to absorb the butter you don't need the flour. baked for 1 hour ten minutes without crust burning.I did it a little longer because you pull the pie out of the oven to put the topping on with the timmer still running, and with the topping on, it needs a little more time to cook the pumpkin.and yes it does get better the longer it sits, best pumpkin pie I have ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
It was pretty good. I did like that it was very pumpkiny and not terribly sweet. I am going to add some cloves next time to bump up the spice. It was a very nice and fluffy pie and not dense like most. I didn't add the streusel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe makes THE BEST PUMPKIN PIE!! EVER! This is my first time making a pumpkin pie. I followed the directions exactly as stated (except I omitted the streusel topping) and it turned out to be the most delicious pumpkin pie i've ever tasted and it was easy to make! It came out looking gorgeous as if it came from one of the high-end bakeries. It wasn't too sweet, just perfectly sweetened and the pumpkin pie spice was just right. Texture was light and fluffy. This will be my first and only pumpkin pie recipe that I will ever use. Thank you Carol A.!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
First time making pumpkin pie from scratch (for whole family for Thanksgiving no less) and this was fantastic!!! My Mom told me it was even better than hers (a huge compliment) and asked me for the recipe :) The only thing i 'changed' was the amount of condensed milk, since the only available can size would have had me using 1.3333 cans...and try to measure that in condensed milk! but it worked out great using only one can! Doubled the recipe to make 2 pies and had a bit leftover which i just made into a couple pumpkin filling muffins. Awesome recipe! thanks so much for sharing!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aluminum_chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 811) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States