Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This is very much like my grandmothers recipe- and we do it the same way, in cans, set in a large stock pot. The BEST thing to eat with baked beans! The PSPS wife
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
excellent! I cut the recipe in half & used 2 cranberry sauce cans since there are only 2 of us..... covered each can with foil & secured with an elastic & steamed for 55 mins..... perfect! Don't forget to grease the cans. thanks, Michele
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Just like on the farm, fast easy and tasty will agree best with baked beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
My kids loved this bread and it is a general family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
The flavor was good, but it took much longer for the bread to cook than expected (30+ minutes longer). However the flavor was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This turned out great. I was shocked when my 13 yr old asked where the leftovers were the next day. I did half the recipe and used 2 chicken broth cans. I also used a veggie steamer until set (about 50 minutes). AWESOME with Baked Beans. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Very nice bread will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe, moist and delicious! I added a cup of raisins to mine. Fantastic with hot dogs and baked beans as a Saturday night meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateSparrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this bread today and it was great! I searched for this recipe because my father-in-law been talking about it and how he would like to have it again. Growing up we could purchase it at any store, not today. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Revere, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sadieville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States