Brown Bread Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
That this ice cream is tasty is no debate -- it's really sweet and decadent, but because of the cream and condensed milk, it doesn't harden up very well. Condense milk, when it freezes, becomes more like a hard caramel. Interesting, but maybe next time, I will use less to see what happens. It's very good, but just melts too fast, becoming a kind of sweet soup with bits of cereal mixed it. I have a terrible sweet tooth, so I will eat anything with enough sugar in it, but my party guests were wincing at the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This was simple and fun to make. we loved it. the kid's complained a little about the cereal, but they ate it well. Hard to do a bad ice cream. Different and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This is incredibly rich... but delicious!! it never looked like more than slushy consistency though. I eventually added the grape nuts anyway and let it rotate another 10-15 minutes and transfered it to an airtight container and put it in the fridge... left it over night and it was perfect ice cream the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was soo good. Too good actually. So fattening but great for a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Just a comment really, because I've never tried this recipe. I thought people might be wondering why this is called "brown bread ice cream" when there is no brown bread in it. Well, brown bread ice cream is an old British treat and certainly did not contain Grape Nuts! You literally made your own toffee-flavored chunks by combining brown bread crumbs with sugar and caramelizing them in the oven. Then blend with traditional vanilla base ice cream ingredients for a unique frozen dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
Grandpa B's recipe is the best! We like to use pasturized egg product instead of raw eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
This unusual recipe was a huge hit with my cooking club. We vow to make this one AT LEAST once a month. Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
I have tried every flavor of ice cream over the years but nothing excited my tastebuds like this. A truly wonderful find. I shared this recipe with my family along with a dish of ice cream. I should have kept this one a secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States