Brown Bean Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I was one of those kids growing up in the 60s & 70s in Tulsa and have wanted this recipe for years. It is one of the best. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe...what wonderful memories this brings back...and yes you have to have cinnamon rolls with it for "tradition". My husband will be thrilled (he went to school in Tulsa in the 70s)as this was one of his favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
It is really good and filling. has a lot of room for personalization
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This is my dear Grandma's recipe. She was a dietician and ran Tulsa's John Ross Elem school cafeteria for several generations. This tastes very similar to Campbell's fiesta chili beef soup. I let it cook about 30 min longer for flavors to blend. I cut the salt down to only a tsp. but you can do this to taste. Great for picky eaters as there are no chunks of tomato or onion or other undesirable veggie. I serve this with cinnamon rolls, because that is how the schools always served it, so it's tradition. Delicious! Never any leftovers here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This is a classic I found this recipe last winter when we were snowed in and needed variety with stuff we had on hand this simple recipe can be easily divided so kids get mild and add to the adults for spice I personally use a envelope of Williams chili seasoning to give it the spice I like and I have used canned pinto beans to make it during the week its always a hit and my husband who hates tomatoes loves this chili; great with saltines or tortilla chips, awesome with fritos and cheese with extra minced onion so possibilities are endless great with rice like a 3way or noodles; experiment and enjoy just for kids sake great protein and lower fat than most chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rayona Forehand Styve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This is an all time favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! I'm not from Tulsa so I'd never had it before, but even my picky non-bean-eating teenager gobbled it up. My only suggestion is to add a little hot sauce to the bowl when serving. This is going into the rotation folder. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDIALEIGH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
OMG This is sooooooo yummy. It is so filling and was a TPS kid of the 60's & 70's and longed to taste it again!! Just as I remembered. I only wish I had that cheesy noodle casserole recipe from Tulsa Public Schools from that era as well. It was my 2nd fav. If anyone reads this and has it, please post it as TPS Cheesy noodle casserole! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I made this with canned pinto beans, played around with the seasonings until it was how we like them, and I omitted the breadcrumbs as it was plenty thick enough already. Served over plain steamed white rice, this was a quick, inexpensive and hearty meal. Thanks, Tonysgirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This McKinley Elementary grad thanks you. I have been trying for years to recreate this recipe. Also, don't forget you must crush saltine crackers into your bowl to get the full effect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This was cheap and fairly easy. I thought it was a decent base recipes, but it needed some spice. The whole thing took a long time from start to finish. I was left thinking that the flavor wasn't that good. Something to do with the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States