Brown Bean Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
reduced salt by 1 tsp and added 3/4 tsp Worcestershire sauce. It really brought out the flavors. Also used 4 slices of bread to make fresh breadcrumbs instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Great basic meal. I did add some cumin and oregano, and left out some of the chili powder for the kids. My husband said it reminded him of a Dominican Repulican beans dish that is served with rice and chicken (instead of ground beef)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This McKinley Elementary grad thanks you. I have been trying for years to recreate this recipe. Also, don't forget you must crush saltine crackers into your bowl to get the full effect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Only complaint and it is probably my own fault is that this was a smidge too salty. However I used canned beans so next time I will go with the dired pinto beans and hopefully this will resolve the salt issue. This was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODIBRONSONNIMS
Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This is a good base and full of possibilities. I cooked the beans slightly longer than suggested. I decided that the amount of bread crumbs would make it too thick. I cut it down to 3/4 cup and it was still too much so I added more water. I didn't have plain bread crumbs but I had Garlic and Herb bread crumbs. After it was done I tasted it and thought it needed more seasoning, so I added some cumin, more chili powder, some oregano, some Cayenne pepper, 1 bay leaf and some chopped fresh cilantro. It was a lot better that way but it borders on almost too much salt (which I hadn't changed) I'm sending some to my 81 year old mother-in-law. She loves beans in any way, shape or form. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Very tasty recipe. I used cans of Ranch Style Beans. So easy and a great winter supper that whole family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
it wasn't awful, but lackluster. i have 3 servings in the freezer, but i wouldn't make it again... next time i'll try it with the cinnamon rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This is a great base recipe and I must admit, I modified it quite a bit. I used canned beans; pinto and black of which I pureed about half, did not see the need for the bread crumbs as it was extremely thick and actually needed to thin it out a bit. I used beer and a half cup of strong coffee to thin, added cocoa powder and a few shakes of liquid smoke. Made this for tonights dinner but I couldn't wait so I grabbed a bowl for lunch. So delicious, healthy and very filling. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
OMG This is sooooooo yummy. It is so filling and was a TPS kid of the 60's & 70's and longed to taste it again!! Just as I remembered. I only wish I had that cheesy noodle casserole recipe from Tulsa Public Schools from that era as well. It was my 2nd fav. If anyone reads this and has it, please post it as TPS Cheesy noodle casserole! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States