Brookville Hotel Cream-Style Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This is very good, but cream-style corn should have some creamy corn in it, not just corn kernels with cream. Southern homemade cream-style corn is made by slicing the kernels of a corn cob then sliding the knife blade down the cob, scraping off what's left of the corn kernels. This makes a creamier dish without the use of cream (my grandparents in Kentucky make this every year and freeze it for the winter). I used the immersion blender on this corn for a couple of pulses and that helped immensely for those of us who don't like large kernels in our cream-style corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
My family has been using this recipe for YEARS!!! My family is from Kansas and my Grandmother got the recipe from the actual hotel. We also have an ice cream recipe from there too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I live near the Brookville hotel and their creamed corn is the best. This is a very easy recipe ans it always comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I have a high salt diet, and this is way to salty, even for me. I would suggest dropping the salt down to 1/4 to maybe 1/2 teaspoon. I also added a touch of thyme, a touch I learned from a local restaurant, which provides a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Finally a simple recipe that doesn't just use canned corn. I needed to use some ears that were starting to shrink up and this was perfect. I used 4 ears of corn, cut off the cob and processed a little, a can of evaporated milk and followed the rest of the recipe. The flavor is wonderful but since I used fresh corn I think it should cook longer depending on the texture you want. The 20 minutes still gave it a crunch which I like but simmering an extra 10 or so probably wouldn't hurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Easy to make, but it didn't go over very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
Wonderful, wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I decreased the serving for this so that could be the reason for my issue but this got really thick, I did really enjoy the flavor, but I had to add lots of extra milk to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Awesome and very rich, a good side for a winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This is great and my kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States