Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabiata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
This recipe was SCRUMPTIOUS! I did make some alterations though. I took the chicken breast and cut them up in little strips before I breaded and cooked them. I would use only 1 egg and less bread crumbs than the recipe suggests, as you end up throwing a lot away. The flavors in this recipe are so good. It's something that could easily be served at the Macaroni Grill. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
This was as good as it was easy. I had started out making the Chicken, Sausage and Zucchini Pasta (on this site) but realized I didn't have any sausage or zucchini! Then I found this recipe and was pleasantly surprised! It had just the right amount of spiciness and I liked that the chicken was crispy. One reviewer suggested using only one egg and I second that - 2 eggs would have been too much. I also just used regular chicken breast (instead of cutlet) and diced it. And I only used about half of the oil called for. Seemed like too much when it was in the pan. Good recipe overall and will make it again when I don't have the ingredients for the Chicken Sausage Pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Excellent! Easy, and very VERY tasty. I halved the chili flakes (too spicy for my kids otherwise) and the breadcrumbs (even with just 1 cup, I threw a bunch away). Also, I prefer to serve the chicken 'on top' of the sauce instead of mixed in, to preserve the crispy quality of the breading. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I LOVE this recipe! I've made it numerous times, and each time it turns out great. If I'm in a hurry, I skip the chicken and just make the sauce and serve it over penne. I've made this for guests many times, and each time it gets rave reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Love it. This is so good. I did however forget to thaw some chicken for this but discovered that I had the Tyson breaded chicken breast fillets and used those instead. Didn't make any difference at all because it was still delicious and all I had to do was throw them in the oven while the pasta and the sauce cooked. Can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch tommorow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
So easy and so good! I did however cut way back on the oil using only a few Tbsp. to sautee the garlic. And, if you are not used to "hot and spicy" cut back on the red pepper flakes - I used 1/2 tsp. and that was plenty hot for me. I also added two 8 oz. can of tomato sauce vs. 1/2 cup and let it simmer until it thickened up. I served it with sweet Italian sausage instead of the chicken (personal preference) and topped it with some shredded Parmesan. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This was a very good recipe. It had the right blends of flavor and the pepper flakes added a little heat to it. This is a keeper. The leftovers were also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
delicious recipe. i used a can of stewed tomatoes and 2 tbsp of tomato paste because that's all I had. i also added about a tbsp of red pepper flakes bc it wasn't spicy enough and about a half cup of sliced mushrooms. I used shrimp instead of chicken and used panko to bread the shrimp. all in all, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
LOVED IT! I made only one slight addition I added sliced black olives. I had this in an Italian restaurant and they added olives gives the sauce a slight saltiness. I don't know if people realize this but Arrabiata means angry hence the amount of red pepper flakes we did add a little(which I like very much). I will make again and again for sure thanks VAMPYRESKA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Great recipe and simple to make. I made meatballs and used them instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States