Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabiata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Good - thinner sauce, not creamy. Chicken is good with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeartlandGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I'm giving this five stars for a fantastic sauce that is easy to make. I'm vegetarian so I left out the chicken and didn't think it would be fair to rate that part of the dish, obviously. This sauce is really delicious; it's spicy but not overwhelming...you mouth gets to enjoy all the flavors rather than just the heat. I could easily serve this to guests for a small dinner party. Thanks for sharing, Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
So easy and so good! I did however cut way back on the oil using only a few Tbsp. to sautee the garlic. And, if you are not used to "hot and spicy" cut back on the red pepper flakes - I used 1/2 tsp. and that was plenty hot for me. I also added two 8 oz. can of tomato sauce vs. 1/2 cup and let it simmer until it thickened up. I served it with sweet Italian sausage instead of the chicken (personal preference) and topped it with some shredded Parmesan. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Yum! What a tasty Italian dish! Both my hubs and I really enjoyed this. I've always been a fan of Ellen's arrabbiata sauce (also on this site), but this is equally as good - if not better! I wasn't sure about the addition of chicken, but to my surprise, it didn't get soggy as I thought it would (which is the reason I was skeptical about adding it to begin with...). The key to keeping your chicken crisp is browning it REALLY well and when adding the cut pieces to your sauce, only simmering for 10 minutes as directed (any longer, it will get mushy). Served with rosemary foccacia and our favorite white wine, this was a FANTASTIC meal. Now I want to visit the Canarsie section of Brooklyn for the real deal! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by squirrelgirl22
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This is a restaurant-quality recipe that easy enough for any at-home cook to make! I was incredibly pleased with how it turned out. We're not fans of hot spice, so next time we will half the amount of crushed red pepper flakes but otherwise keep everything the same. This is definitely going to get made again and again. I agree with other comments, pay attention to the serving calculator. This makes SIX good sized servings. Lots of leftovers for the two of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rinterr
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Delicious....I followed the suggestions and put the chicken on top. The batter for the chicken is the best part i think! Definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I made this years ago... and still have the recipe. and STILL make it once in awhile. It still works everytime. I really like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nickaletta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Winner winner chicken dinner!! Leftovers heated well the following day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie's Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Amazing sauce and very simple, I actually skipped the whole chicken thing and just sauteed jumbo shrimp in garlic and butter, tossed together with the sauce and penne - it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 647) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States