Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabiata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Way to much work for the flavor. The only thing we tasted was the red pepper flakes. On the plus side it is a filling dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Easy & Delicious! Not an ordinary chicken dish. We usually don't like red sauce, but this was great! Did not have penne pasta so substituted wide noodles. Used less olive oil to saute. Cut chicken breast in cubes, dipped in 2 eggs, but used only about 1 cup of the breadcrumb mixture. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Loved this! It was a very nice, and light dish compared to most other Italian dishes we've had. My husband and sister really liked it and it left us feeling the "right" kind of full. Like several other reviewers, I also cut back on the egg and breadcrumbs (too much of both in my opinion) and also cut the chicken before I fried it. Thanks for the meal, I will be making it more often as a dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommie0610

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Lacked flavor for me, this is just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdbooker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Great recipe. I made a few adjustments though. I baked the chicken for a healthier option. As well, I added spinach to the sauce. And I didn't have any red pepper flakes so I used Montreal Chicken Spice instead. It turned out great. Definitely one recipe I'm keeping as a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This is one delicious dish !!! I did modify it a bit by using egg beaters instead of eggs, seasoned panko crumbs, and dried basil because there was no fresh basil at the market - I didn't add a ton of basil, probably about a tablespoon. I also added a pinch of sugar to the sauce, and used no-salt tomato sauce (I used an 8 ox can) since I felt there was plenty of salt in the an of diced tomatoes. I simmered the sauce for about 40 mins to incorporate the flavors. I left the salt out of the panko crumb mixture also. This was awesome and definitely a keeper. TYSM Brooklyn Girl !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I made 3 servings which was enough for 4. I cut back a bit on the oil, probably by 1/2. Since I made 3 servings, I made 3 thin cut chicken breasts which was too much for me because I only used 1 breast. I guess it's a personal preference, don't like a lot of meat in my pasta. Added another tsp of red pepper flakes to kick up the spice, which really wasn't that spicy (4 on a scale of 10). Love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This dish is wonderful and extremely flavorful. I would recommend adding an extra can of the diced tomatoes, because the amount of left-over pasta seemed a little dry. We used Parmesan bread crumbs from Progresso and that made all the difference in the world. I would highly recommend this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very good! I used Panko breadcrumbs and would not recommend using them in this recipe. When placed in the pasta/sauce mixture, the panko began to separate from the chicken and float around in the pan with the sauce....YUCK! I'm not sure if breadcrumbs would do the same? However, next time, I will cook the chicken separetly all the way and add it on at the end to the plate...not the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SG-cooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 664) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States