Bromley Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Just made this. Omitted celery seed and onion since I didn't have them. My husband loves slaw but not a big fan of mayo so we'll see what he says. As for me I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Delicious! I realized as I was making the sauce for this slaw that there was no vinegar or acid and was tempted to add some....but did not as I was curious to try as is....it didnt need it! This was an amazing slaw that was creamy and slightly sweet and kept people coming back for more. I used a lil over a cup of low fat mayo, reduced the honey to 1/4c and decreased the celery seed way down to maybe a lil over 1/2tblspn. I also really like the addition of the green onions in this slaw. Made this the day before serving and served with Amazing Simple Pulled Pork Sandwiches by IRISHGINA74....and fantastic combo. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This recipe is great! I am usually not a big fan of coleslaw, but my dad asked me to make some. Everyone loved this and keep asking me to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Good Recipe - but WAY to much celery seed. I cut it back to 1 teaspoon. Otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I made this recipe up following it exactly, except I didn't have a coleslaw mix, so I used cabbage which I chopped, carrots, radishes, and raab. For the raab, don't use the tough stems. We found it was almost too sweet for our tastes, so will use less honey next time. The 1 Tablespoon of celery seed was fine. It didn't overpower the dish. Also used green onions as stated in recipe. I served this atop halibut cheeks that had been baked in a little olive oil, with the juice of one Meyer's lemon, with salt and pepper. Then I put the fish and slaw in between warmed hamburger buns for fish sandwiches. Delicious! We had enough to just serve the rest of the salad along side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This is the best coleslaw recipe I have ever made. I used light mayo and still it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
The beauty of this recipe is the speed with which it can be thrown together. My store-bought bottled cole slaw dressing was outdated, so I needed a quick dressing to go with the shredded cole slaw mix I bought. This recipe filled that role perfectly. We ate it warm and did not have green onions on hand. With those additions called for in the recipe, it would--no doubt--have been even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I went to Allrecipes to find a coleslaw recipe without vinegar. This one sounded perfect. I just made it and it is sitting in the fridge as I write this. As usual, I changed it a little. First, it was too mayonaissey (I don't think that's a word), so I used 1 cup mayo and 1 cup sour cream. I also eliminated the celery seed and green onions as I just wanted a simple, sweet coleslaw. This is a great recipe. Thanks for sharing Lynne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNSCOOKIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Great recipe! We aren't mayo eaters in this house, so substituted Miracle Whip. Still had a great flavor with a little zip. Loved that this recipe calls for honey instead of a ton of white sugar! Didn't care for the onions in the slaw, but it could've been because mine we a little strong. Next time I'll leave them out! Overall a terrific recipe that I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. My husband and I are huge fans of honey, and we've been using it in place of refined sugar as much as possible. The honey in this recipe gives it that little something extra that makes it better than any other coleslaw I've ever had. I needed to use up half of a bag of coleslaw mix I had left over from another recipe, so I used the ingredients I had on hand to make the recipe. I used red wine vinegar, and didn't add the celery seed or onion just because I didn't have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States