Bromley Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I went to Allrecipes to find a coleslaw recipe without vinegar. This one sounded perfect. I just made it and it is sitting in the fridge as I write this. As usual, I changed it a little. First, it was too mayonaissey (I don't think that's a word), so I used 1 cup mayo and 1 cup sour cream. I also eliminated the celery seed and green onions as I just wanted a simple, sweet coleslaw. This is a great recipe. Thanks for sharing Lynne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNSCOOKIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Good Recipe - but WAY to much celery seed. I cut it back to 1 teaspoon. Otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. My husband and I are huge fans of honey, and we've been using it in place of refined sugar as much as possible. The honey in this recipe gives it that little something extra that makes it better than any other coleslaw I've ever had. I needed to use up half of a bag of coleslaw mix I had left over from another recipe, so I used the ingredients I had on hand to make the recipe. I used red wine vinegar, and didn't add the celery seed or onion just because I didn't have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I made this recipe up following it exactly, except I didn't have a coleslaw mix, so I used cabbage which I chopped, carrots, radishes, and raab. For the raab, don't use the tough stems. We found it was almost too sweet for our tastes, so will use less honey next time. The 1 Tablespoon of celery seed was fine. It didn't overpower the dish. Also used green onions as stated in recipe. I served this atop halibut cheeks that had been baked in a little olive oil, with the juice of one Meyer's lemon, with salt and pepper. Then I put the fish and slaw in between warmed hamburger buns for fish sandwiches. Delicious! We had enough to just serve the rest of the salad along side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I like the mix of mayo and honey. I also cut way back on the celery seed, and had to add a tablespoon or so of sugar to further cut the mayo taste and add to the sweetness. I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
4 Tbl of celery seeds is way too much! I only used 1 tsp. Also it's a bit heavy on the mayo. Just add in what you need. I only used a little over a cup total. I felt it was lacking on the ZIP so I added in 2 Tbl. apple cider vinegar and 1/2 c. of well drained crushed pineapple. After the adjustments...this slaw went great w/ my rootbeer bbq pork sliders ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Excellent coleslaw recipe. The green onions and honey both add a good flavor. I'm on a diet so I used half the dressing recipe and it was enough. I also used light mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Don't know if it was a misprint but 4 tablespoons of celery seed is WAY TO MUCH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniLou
Home Town: Granger, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wabash, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Very good recipe love using the honey in place of sugar I used some dehydrated onion. Put right into the dressing worked great. I don't always have green onion on hand. Thanks for the recipe. I did back of on the amount of honey so it would not be too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Delicious! I realized as I was making the sauce for this slaw that there was no vinegar or acid and was tempted to add some....but did not as I was curious to try as is....it didnt need it! This was an amazing slaw that was creamy and slightly sweet and kept people coming back for more. I used a lil over a cup of low fat mayo, reduced the honey to 1/4c and decreased the celery seed way down to maybe a lil over 1/2tblspn. I also really like the addition of the green onions in this slaw. Made this the day before serving and served with Amazing Simple Pulled Pork Sandwiches by IRISHGINA74....and fantastic combo. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States