Bromley Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Good Recipe - but WAY to much celery seed. I cut it back to 1 teaspoon. Otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
We enjoyed this very much. I added a bit less mayo and added some shredded carrots for some color and it was yummy. Will make again for sure! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I like the mix of mayo and honey. I also cut way back on the celery seed, and had to add a tablespoon or so of sugar to further cut the mayo taste and add to the sweetness. I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I made this recipe up following it exactly, except I didn't have a coleslaw mix, so I used cabbage which I chopped, carrots, radishes, and raab. For the raab, don't use the tough stems. We found it was almost too sweet for our tastes, so will use less honey next time. The 1 Tablespoon of celery seed was fine. It didn't overpower the dish. Also used green onions as stated in recipe. I served this atop halibut cheeks that had been baked in a little olive oil, with the juice of one Meyer's lemon, with salt and pepper. Then I put the fish and slaw in between warmed hamburger buns for fish sandwiches. Delicious! We had enough to just serve the rest of the salad along side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This is the best coleslaw recipe I have ever made. I used light mayo and still it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
The beauty of this recipe is the speed with which it can be thrown together. My store-bought bottled cole slaw dressing was outdated, so I needed a quick dressing to go with the shredded cole slaw mix I bought. This recipe filled that role perfectly. We ate it warm and did not have green onions on hand. With those additions called for in the recipe, it would--no doubt--have been even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I went to Allrecipes to find a coleslaw recipe without vinegar. This one sounded perfect. I just made it and it is sitting in the fridge as I write this. As usual, I changed it a little. First, it was too mayonaissey (I don't think that's a word), so I used 1 cup mayo and 1 cup sour cream. I also eliminated the celery seed and green onions as I just wanted a simple, sweet coleslaw. This is a great recipe. Thanks for sharing Lynne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNSCOOKIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Don't know if it was a misprint but 4 tablespoons of celery seed is WAY TO MUCH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniLou
Home Town: Granger, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wabash, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I used this dressing recipe and added about 1/4 cup of vinegar after I tasted it, since the dressing seemed a tad bland. Vinegar added the zip it needed, but this was good on its own too. I let it sit in the fridge about 1 hour before supper and it was very tasty! I used chinese cabbage, grated carrot, broccoli, and white onion chopped fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bitchin Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This was ok. Out of several slaws I made on evening for a fish fry this was by far the least favorite all around. Like I said it was just ok for a slaw that was a bit different from the usual slaws you get at restaurants. There was plenty left over and we were able to ship it home with one of our single guy friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States