Broken Thermostat Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I love this recipe! It's my new favorite! I will make it over and over again. I wouldn't call it "broken thermostat" because it's not too hot, but as the submitter said, it's "mildly spicy." I think I'll add more red pepper flakes next time. Also, I cut this in half and it was perfect. I was wary about the yams--but they were great! I served it over jasmine rice and am thoroughly enjoying it right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Needed a little salt to give it more flavor, but my wife and I enjoyed it. (Kids refused to try it since it had cauliflower in it.) Don't know why it's called "Broken Thermostat Curry" though, since I really couldn't taste the peppers at all. Would be inclined to double-up on the cayenne next time. But a good, healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
My boys hate it when I add vegetables to a meat curry. Now I make this one as a side dish and find it is eaten first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Not bad could use a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Great! I accidentally mistimed the chapatis I made to go with this, so it overcooked a bit and the cauliflower disappeared. Turned out to be a great mistake--my finicky husband loved it...and he hates cauliflower. This is a keeper. The spices were just right for us and we chose to add salt at the table. Served it with plain yogurt, jalapeño, and cilantro. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Found this recipe using the ingredient search. I did not have a yam but a lot of cauliflower and had crushed tomatoes instead of diced. I think it worked out well and enjoyed the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This was pretty good. It was missing something so I added a bit of salt and some raisins from Trader Joe's (jumbo raisin medley). I served this with a seared salmon curry dish from this site, homemade naan from this sire and tofu/garbanzo beans with a masala sauce and mango chutney. yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APHRODITEANDVINNY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This was really good and easy to make. I did mine in the slow cooker and had it on low for the day. The only thing I would advise if doing in slow cooker is cut back on the water a little bit. I liked how it came out, but was informed that while the taste was right on, it was a little soupy for how the dish is supposed to be. The flavours were wonderful. I had to buy a few of the spices since I have never made indian quisine before and have never used them. Definately worth the small investment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
At first it tasted a little bland. Also many said it wasn't hot so I made it as dinner for all including 13 month old son. It was a little too spicy for him and for me it was a bit spicy. My hubby agreed with others though. So I guess that all depends. I would next time add less potato and more yam. Also, I added a can of coconut milk. That was a great improvement. I also added vegetarian chicken to it. Mealstarters found at most any big chain grocery store in the freezer section. I would rate it a four and a half after all my changes. HEHE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Fabulous! I like spicy foods, so I ramped up the cumin, curry, cayenne and pepper flakes. I used peas instead of the cauliflower, and added an individual can of V8 juice with the carrots and onions, then reduced the water to 1 1/2 c. It was every bit as good as what we get at our local Indian deli. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States