Broken Thermostat Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I love this recipe! It's my new favorite! I will make it over and over again. I wouldn't call it "broken thermostat" because it's not too hot, but as the submitter said, it's "mildly spicy." I think I'll add more red pepper flakes next time. Also, I cut this in half and it was perfect. I was wary about the yams--but they were great! I served it over jasmine rice and am thoroughly enjoying it right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Needed a little salt to give it more flavor, but my wife and I enjoyed it. (Kids refused to try it since it had cauliflower in it.) Don't know why it's called "Broken Thermostat Curry" though, since I really couldn't taste the peppers at all. Would be inclined to double-up on the cayenne next time. But a good, healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
My boys hate it when I add vegetables to a meat curry. Now I make this one as a side dish and find it is eaten first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Not bad could use a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Great! I accidentally mistimed the chapatis I made to go with this, so it overcooked a bit and the cauliflower disappeared. Turned out to be a great mistake--my finicky husband loved it...and he hates cauliflower. This is a keeper. The spices were just right for us and we chose to add salt at the table. Served it with plain yogurt, jalapeño, and cilantro. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Found this recipe using the ingredient search. I did not have a yam but a lot of cauliflower and had crushed tomatoes instead of diced. I think it worked out well and enjoyed the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This was pretty good. It was missing something so I added a bit of salt and some raisins from Trader Joe's (jumbo raisin medley). I served this with a seared salmon curry dish from this site, homemade naan from this sire and tofu/garbanzo beans with a masala sauce and mango chutney. yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APHRODITEANDVINNY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This was really good and easy to make. I did mine in the slow cooker and had it on low for the day. The only thing I would advise if doing in slow cooker is cut back on the water a little bit. I liked how it came out, but was informed that while the taste was right on, it was a little soupy for how the dish is supposed to be. The flavours were wonderful. I had to buy a few of the spices since I have never made indian quisine before and have never used them. Definately worth the small investment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
At first it tasted a little bland. Also many said it wasn't hot so I made it as dinner for all including 13 month old son. It was a little too spicy for him and for me it was a bit spicy. My hubby agreed with others though. So I guess that all depends. I would next time add less potato and more yam. Also, I added a can of coconut milk. That was a great improvement. I also added vegetarian chicken to it. Mealstarters found at most any big chain grocery store in the freezer section. I would rate it a four and a half after all my changes. HEHE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Fabulous! I like spicy foods, so I ramped up the cumin, curry, cayenne and pepper flakes. I used peas instead of the cauliflower, and added an individual can of V8 juice with the carrots and onions, then reduced the water to 1 1/2 c. It was every bit as good as what we get at our local Indian deli. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States