Broken Spaghetti Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
OK, I could've totally ate this entire thing, lol...YES, IT'S THAT GOOD! Just be prepared...this took more time (and broth) than called for, which was no problem for me b/c I had the extra time, and this is soooo worth it, just wanting to let others know! Great flavor and method...I used 'Barilla Cut Spaghetti', instead of breaking my own, just b/c I had it. I will be making this over and over~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Oh Yes Chef John!! This was delicious!! You can find a product called Fideo in the Latin section, which is small packages (8 oz.) of broken spaghetti, if you don't want the mess of breaking spaghetti into pieces. You can also add some chopped onion when browning the pasta, and a can of diced tomatoes with the broth to get a totally different flavor. Either way, you will be tempted to eat the whole pan yourself!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Even though I have loved every single one of Chef John's recipes I have tried thus far, this one seemed too simple to be really "all that good" and the few negative reviews had me thinking I would have had to spice this up quite a bit. I was WRONG!! I only had linguine so I broke those up and other than that I didn't change a thing. This was SO very good. I didn't even had to add salt!!! I just kept adding a little broth at a time until it cooked down to the way I liked it. I sprinkled the red pepper flakes and freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano on top and voila!! If you think you can get away with putting the fake cheap stuff on top, nope! It sure won't be the same. This was great. I can see it being served at any Italian restaurant with some chicken and veggies on the side. I had it by itself because I'm "carbing up" for a long run tomorrow ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I've been making home-made type "Rice-A-Roni" dishes for years. It started out simple because I didn't have any when my kids asked for it. Using the box technique of browning the spaghetti & rice in butter, adding stock, seasonings, covering and simmering. The kids never knew the difference. As yrs have gone by, this is my go to for a quick and easy scampi dish. Adding rice, lemon, shrimp, lots of garlic, red pepper flake etc. You can make this dish into just about anything for either a side or main dish. Serving with cooked chicken breasts (any way, think lemon chicken for one) on top with an array of seasoning options, fresh parsley...the possibilities are endless. To give this a poor rating just means you have to broaden your imagination and not be afraid to try as written and experiment. Excellent recipe to put out there...Thank you for sharing with others Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Added peeled deveined shrimp at end (Last 3 minutes) I agree with an earlier reviewer that it took a little extra Chix. broth & cooking time then what recipe says! Will make again but will make extra for leftover's next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This dish was simple, but not as tasty as I had hoped. It was bland, so I ended up adding mushrooms, bacon, and pesto. I did enjoy the nutty flavor that was achieved from toasting the noodles. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
We liked it! Quick, easy and made with ingredients readily available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Outstanding! I used 8 Oz. whole wheat spaghetti and 2 cans chix broth, and lots more garlic. We think that this could masquerade as wild rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I have made my won version of Rice a roni this way with broken Spaghetti adding rice to it when browning he spaghetti. I prefer to make it from scratch this way to control the amount of sodium that goes into the dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryver MystDragon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Here in Catalonia (Spain), this dish is called "fideuà"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States