Broken Spaghetti Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This was so incredibly good!!! I made it as a side dish for London Broil on the grill. My whole family really enjoyed it. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This turned out very well in spite of me. I over-browned my spaghetti, which somehow didn't detract from the overall flavor that I could tell. Also, I didn't measure exactly the amount of spaghetti so I needed a lot more liquid than the recipe called for. Other than that, though, it's great to have the recipe on hand in a pinch, but it's quicker & easier to use something like Rice a Roni. It's still going in my recipe box, though! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmeakim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was delicious! I am adding this to our regular side-dish rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Splendid. Good as a side dish, better as a springboard for one-dish dinners. The method is clearly written and easy to follow. My Mexican neighbor put this dish in my head years ago. She made it a meal with chorizo and black beans, called it "Fried Spaghetti". The review from pvpba on July 15th made me try shrimp. Like pvpba, I would say: stay away from the green shaker-can of parmesan cheese... use a good, sharp Reggiano or Romano from the deli. Adjust the liquid, adjust the garlic, but it's definitely a five-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I've been making home-made type "Rice-A-Roni" dishes for years. It started out simple because I didn't have any when my kids asked for it. Using the box technique of browning the spaghetti & rice in butter, adding stock, seasonings, covering and simmering. The kids never knew the difference. As yrs have gone by, this is my go to for a quick and easy scampi dish. Adding rice, lemon, shrimp, lots of garlic, red pepper flake etc. You can make this dish into just about anything for either a side or main dish. Serving with cooked chicken breasts (any way, think lemon chicken for one) on top with an array of seasoning options, fresh parsley...the possibilities are endless. To give this a poor rating just means you have to broaden your imagination and not be afraid to try as written and experiment. Excellent recipe to put out there...Thank you for sharing with others Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Just love this. Thanks for another wonderful recipe Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This is DELICIOUS! Primo! You do have to use more chick broth, I used 2 1/2 cans and it took atleast 30 mins but my gosh was it worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
If you're a beginner cook, don't try this, even if you've tried other recipes of Chef John's that turned out. It was hard and even after all the work, it was bland and other things needed to be added... not entirely impressed, I might try it again later though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Chef John. Great recipe, but when you describe the origin of this type of recipe, it most likely tastes and resembles Paella from Barcelona, Spain... It is more like Rice-a-Roni noodles... Will make this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Added peeled deveined shrimp at end (Last 3 minutes) I agree with an earlier reviewer that it took a little extra Chix. broth & cooking time then what recipe says! Will make again but will make extra for leftover's next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States