Broken Spaghetti Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
What a great side dish! Yes, I added more chicken broth and cooked it longer than the recipe stated, but it turned out so flavorful! I didn't have fresh parsley. Just used the dried stuff. I also used a little wheat pasta mixed in with the regular. Fantastic! Will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Photo by Chelle
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
My daughter and I have made this wonderful recipe several times now and it's always delicious. The first time we made it exactly as written and loved it. Since then we've added different ingredients to see how it turned out and one of our favorites is fresh sliced mushrooms that we sautéed with onions in a little olive oil. The cheese at the end brings it all together. We use whole grain spaghetti. So so good! Thanks for sharing Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I tried this recipe today. For me it took about twice the amount of broth but I had it so that was not a problem. I loved it, my husband liked it. I also used Barilla cut spaghetti. I will definitely make it again and may try adding shrimp or possibly leftover chicken and vegetables some time. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
It was way too bland but too much trouble to make. I would not make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I discovered something about me and my family. We don't like toasted pasta. The method was easy enough and it looked pretty but we couldn't get over the toasted flavor. It was edible but not good for us. I did like the freshness of the parsley. I didn't want to throw it out so I squeezed the juice of one lemon on it. That freshened it up a bit but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
We have made this again & again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zaizou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Well, I liked the idea of this and we’ve enjoyed other recipes that call for toasting pasta. Instead of spaghetti, I made this using orzo pasta. The orzo toasted beautifully, but when it came to adding the broth, it evaporated far too quickly. Even after adding more broth than called for, the pasta still was not done. Rather than continuing to add more broth, I added water to complete the cooking process. In the end, this turned out well, but I doubt I’ll use this method again. I think there are easier ways to cook this with equally good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was a super easy side dish to make. I probably overdid it on the red pepper , so be careful. I did find that I needed to add more liquid than suggested, or the noodles would have been a little bit hard. But that should be common sense ;0) The kids and hubby enjoyed this, and I will make it again for sure (minus a shake of red pepper flakes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Mabank, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was amazing!! Easy and very tasty. Not sure if i can go back to making spaghetti the usual way now. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I'm a big fan of Chef John's, but this fell short of his usually excellent recipes. It was bland, bland, bland. Instead of trying to figure out how to fix it, I'll just start by choosing a different recipe next time. Keep them coming anyway, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broken Spaghetti

See how to make a fast and super-easy pasta dish.

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States