Broiler Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2000
One of the best and easiest and tastiest icing ever!!! Great recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
I have used this recipe for years and was glad to see it here in this form. I also add slivered almonds to give a different taste. I use it on top of my favorite white cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I slightly changed this recipe; deleting the nuts; substituting milk for the cream and adding a tsp of vanilla. I use this on a standard white 'scratch' cake and everyone gobbles it up.......the cake doesn't last 2 days with this topping!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Wonderful icing, I put it on a pineapple cake instead of cream cheese frosting and it was great. I used flavoured liquid coffee mate(vanilla)in place of the cream and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
i grew up with this icing and was so excited to find it here! my mom always put this on top of date cake. it actually seal in the moisture of the cake and creates a nice crunchy topping. make sure you brown it till it's good and golden, otherwise it won't caramelize and just ends up gooey. i just put it on an applesauce cake and it's terrific. can be made with either white or brown sugar and you can use milk instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I used almonds instead of walnuts, because that's all I had in my pantry. It turns a little runny when it gets hot under the broiler. I put it on cupcakes, so it boiled over a little, but will be even better on a whole cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Too sweet!!! Had to remove it from the cake :-(.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This is exactly what my mother used to put on chocolate cakes!!!! I grew up with this and it's delicious! Do as the other reader said and make sure you have a golden brown finish or you miss out on some of the flavor burst, along with the gooey consistency you'll end up with if it's not done enough. THANK YOU for this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseNut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheffield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Made chocolate cupcakes not realizing that I didn't have enough icing sugar to make frosting, so I found this recipe and made it instead. Omitted the nuts. I was a bit worried, as it doesn't have that creamy factor that frosting has, but let me tell you, I'm glad I tried it! Everyone loved it. Some did think it was a bit sweet, although I decreased the sugar a bit, but other than that, I was pleasantly surprised that it was such a hit. Especially that it looked more like melted cheese on top, instead of coconut!It is a nice change from the regular frosting, and quite original of a technique! Thanks for sharing, it really helped me out! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Love it! Very simple and yet very tasty. I put this on a banana brownie recipe and it was perfect! Keeps the cake/brownie nice and moist. I did use milk instead of cream and I did omit the coconut (but only because my hubby doesn't like coconut)....will use again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States