Broiled Vegetable Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I would suggest if you like your peppers and onions more done to saute them a little first and then do the broiling. Once the cheese is melted the veggies are still pretty raw. I don't mind them too much this way and the sandwich was really delicious...just prefer them a little more cooked. I also added a little fresh parsley and salt and pepper. Used a hoagie roll b/c plain white bread just seemed a little plain. Can't wait to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Great! Prep time with a chopper is about 10 minutes. Great quick snack. Kids and all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Good recipe - But White Bread? I used a multigrain bread and it provided a fuller flavour, and a better health advantage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Yum, yum, yum. For more tender veggies, definately saute them (except for the tomato) in the olive oil before putting on the bread. I also upgraded the bread to whole grain and used shredded Motzerella cheese. Smelled SO GOOD and tasted great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This was very good! I did saute all the veggies, except for the tomatoes beforehand to soften them a little in some olive oil, with a clove of minced garlic, salt and pepper, and then proceeded with the recipe. I also added some pepperjack cheese and that went well with the veggies. Also, I had a small baguette to use up, so I used that instead of the white bread. All in all a nice, quick and tasty sandwich that I would totally make again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Very good recipe! My Family Loved it and, it's quick and easy. Also Healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CiaoAmica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
definitely saute or roast veggies prior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was fantastic! I'm living abroad with a kitchen that has no stove/toaster oven, so I briefly stir-fried the vegetables in the olive oil (2-3 minutes), toasted the bread over the stove (watch carefully! I obliterated one piece because I wasn't paying attention), and topped it with finely shredded cheddar cheese. It was a hit with my boyfriend and definitely something I will make again, especially considering it took about fifteen minutes from start to finish (and I'm still slow at chopping vegetables).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bisbee, Arizona, USA
Living In: Guangzhou, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
We liked this a lot. while sauteing the onions and peppers like others have suggested, we added a clove of minced garlic because we like it. also, right before putting the sandwich halves together we added a leaf of romaine lettuce. very tasty, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
YUM! It was like an adult cheese toastie! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neffets72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States