Broiled Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Outstanding after the greasy mess I had with trying to just broil beef ribs. As a suggestion you can add carrots and quarter large potatoes 30 minutes to the pot before the ribs are done. Also what a crime to let all that great beef broth go to waste. After ribs are broiled you can add the big old left over bones back to the pot and simmer for a while then strain for some absolutly awesome broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pudd2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I tried this recipe exactly the way it was given and it was wonderful! My husband said it was the same as going to a nice BBQ restaurant and ordering theirs. I boiled them the night before and just refrig them, then the next night I took the out and made the sauce and it was a quick week night meal. Very very good recipe. I did use mild brer rabbit molasses, not the original, if that even made any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was awesome. So easy I didn't even defrost my ribs. I did use my own BBQ sauce, but this time i'm going to try their recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipe is easy to make. I was a "Camp Cook" and made them for hungry men who all loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I gave this 5 stars because I'm a beginning cook. 1) Used a crock pot. I simmered 6 beef short ribs on high for 1 hour then reduced to low for another 4, another 2 or 3 would've done but I was running errands that day. I removed the ribs with tongs and poured all the sauce on top and broiled for 15 mins. They were very tender and very tasty! 2) I like alot of sauce. The recipe for this sauce seemed sufficient for 6 small short ribs. I think if I would've cooked 4 lbs of short ribs, I would need to at least double the recipe. That doesn't take away from the tastiness. I loved that I made my own sauce and I could even taste a small zing of lemon. Pretty cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
My ribs are still tough, cooked according to directions. sauce is great though, used it on some sirlon instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENNE27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Tried this with apprehension because I'd never made ribs before and was really concerned about disappointing the family who's used to my mom's ribs... Well, after a VERY successful rib dinner, I'm being asked to make these again. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETTYBE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This recipe was great. . .easy and tasty. However, I found the amount of lemon to be too much so I would have the lemon juice or maybe use 2 tablespoons of cider vinegar instead. But thank you for the way to produce "fall apart" ribs with little work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Wow! Dad loved these, and they were fool-proof, perfectly cooked and easy too! We just used bottled sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I used stone ground mustard in place of powdered mustard. And, I boiled the short ribs for 4 hours in a slow cooker instead of the dutch oven... they turned out great! Very tender and lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States