Broiled Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
YUMMERS! This recipe was super easy and delicious! I was worried that all that boiling, and then broiling, would cause the ribs to be overcooked, but they were tender and yummy! For the sauce, I substituted honey for molasses, because I didn't have any molasses on hand. My husband's only complaint was that the sauce has a lot of sugar -- all that honey and ketchup -- and he's trying to limit sugar. So next time I might try a soy-based sauce, such as I've tried before in the slow cooker. But, this cooking technique worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Not as greasy as other times I've cooked short ribs. I trimmed fat before and after the boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Reviewers who completely change the recipe and report on their own outcome are not reviewing the recipe! I made these ribs exactly according to the instructions. They were tender and totally delicious, thanks to the WONDERFUL sauce! I am very fussy about food and seldom give 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I had high hopes for this recipe, but we thought it was just okay. The meat was tender, but a little dry, and the flavor was comparable to a bottled barbecue sauce. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
awesome. loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey Farley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
After countless attempts to make my own barbeque sauce I have finally found the one! This sauce tastes exactly like the kind I buy in the grocery store so now I can finally make it at home. Thanks! As for cooking the meat, I used 3 lbs of boneless short ribs and I didn't boil it for 2 hours. I always boil my ribs first to make them tender but I only boil them for 1 hour; afterall, the oven will finish cooking them. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Wonderful! Both my young kids both enjoyed it very much, I did cut back the molasses too as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
So tender! I used bone-in short ribs and they fall right off the bone. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Delicious!, Next time I am going to use 1/4 c molasses to make a little less sweet & then will make sure when I turn them over to brush more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
A little time consuming but easy to prepare. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of finishing them on the grill. They came out tender and flavorful. The molasses sauce was delicious and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States