Broiled Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I love short ribs and I like them pretty simple without a bunch of sauce so this was perfect. I put them in the crock pot on low with beef broth and garlic for 4 1/2 hrs. I didn't use much of the sauce because I love the flavor of the ribs themselves. I broiled for about 5-7 min to crisp up. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
These were great! I followed the recipe as written, though used a regular stock/pasta pot to boil the meat. Such quick & easy prep. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I tried this recipe last night, I did read some of the reviews and took some advice. I boiled in water and beef stock, but only for an hour. I added a pinch of red pepper flakes and a couple dashes of soy sauce to the BBQ sauce. Very very very good - exact sweetness I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Oh my goodness this was soooooo good. I wasn't sure it would turn out okay because I had to make adjustments based on what I had in my kitchen. I searched Allrecipes as well as googling to try to get answers to my questions, with no luck. So I had to cross my fingers and hope it worked out. I wanted to pass on to anyone in the same dilemma that certain substitutions worked just fine for me. I didn't use beef short ribs, but instead went with pork spare ribs. I don't own a dutch oven so used my cheap crockpot for the same amount of time on low. I did have to turn the ribs halfway through since they weren't completely submerged. Lastly, I used maple syrup instead of molasses, which probably resulted in thinner sauce, but it was still very good. Hope my tale helps and thanks to Donna for such a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was such a fabulous tasting dish! My husband just drooled over every bite. The 2 things that I did differently is that I took the advice of another user and added vegetable bouillon (I would of added beef but didn't have any) while the ribs simmered and I added 1/2 tsp and a pinch of cayenne pepper for a nice kick. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tx_NP3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
So, friends gave me some shortribs, and I've never cooked them before. This recipe looked pretty good, so I tried it. I'm not really sure what a dutch oven is, but I followed others advice and used my crockpot. I covered the ribs in water and set it on low for 4 hours. Made the sauce, but didn't have any garlic powder, so I used fresh garlic minced. It was delicious! I probably broiled them for about 10 minutes, 5 on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Easy and tangy and made my baby smile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Very good. I used homemade chili sauce instead of catchup and cooked in a crock pot a few hours. We didn't even wait until dinner to chow them down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolTyson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Positively superb! I have a few excellent recipes in my file for small bones that I favor. This one FAR exceeds them all. I didn't change a single thing, because I don't feel it's fair to do that and then render an opinion. Donna, this recipe is restaurant worthy as is - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
YUMMERS! This recipe was super easy and delicious! I was worried that all that boiling, and then broiling, would cause the ribs to be overcooked, but they were tender and yummy! For the sauce, I substituted honey for molasses, because I didn't have any molasses on hand. My husband's only complaint was that the sauce has a lot of sugar -- all that honey and ketchup -- and he's trying to limit sugar. So next time I might try a soy-based sauce, such as I've tried before in the slow cooker. But, this cooking technique worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States