Broiled Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
The first time I made this I followed the recipe exactly, and it was excellent. The second time, however, it was OUT OF THIS WORLD making the following changes: Instead of broiling, melt the butter in a saucepan over med/high heat. Add the remaining ingredients (except the lemon) and sautee the scallops for approx two minutes on each side. Pour the scallops and the sauce over pilafed rice, squeeze fresh lemon juice over the top, and garnish with a little parsley and a tiny bit of paprika for color. My fiance says this is the best seafood recipe I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1019 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I have made this recipe over a dozen times. It's the best. One suggestion, mix the liquid ingredients all together and then brush on scallops. Then sprinkle with crushed black pepper and parmesan. It's great for a weekend meal as well as for company. thank you to the original subscriber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
717 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Absolutely excellent! Only limited by the quality of scallops used. We used cheap-o Sam's frozen scallops because that is what we had on hand..similar to another reviewer, and they still turned out good. (I halved the garlic salt and added garlic powder as another reviewer recommended). My husband often eats scallops when we eat out, and can vouch for the great taste of this unassuming recipe. I rate it 5 for ease and he rates it 5 for taste. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
317 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
Absolutely terrific recipe! The only change I made was that I heated the butter and added some smashed garlic (like a cream consistency) to the warm butter and then brushed the mixture over the scallops. It was just amazing and my boyfriend and I are going to make and eat them this way again tonight. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This is absolutely delicious! It is a classic recipe that is simple to make. I will definitely be making it again. I did deviate from the recipe a bit as I used sea scallops instead of bay scallops (this requires tripling the butter and lemon, and broiling for about 10 mins). I also took the suggestion of brushing on the mixture before pouring it into the dish, and I sprinkled some chili powder on top before broiling. I was going for paprika, but the chili actually gave it some added spice, which turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
The only changes I made to the recipe was using Old Bay for the garlic salt & sprinkling just a bit more lemon juice on top before serving them. Very good & very easy...I actually think this rated higher than a four but not quite a five. I wasn't in the mood for pasta so I served these w/ a steamed artichoke (also dipped in the butter), lemon pepper zuchinni & sauteed mushrooms w/ white wine. Pinot Grigio went really well this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
For us, 1 tablespoon of garlic salt made the dish too salty. Tried it again and slightly warmed a minced clove of garlic (or more, depending on how many scallops) to the butter before sprinkling the top of the scallops with it. Topped it with the lemon juice and it was 100% better. This is also great sauteed with the above ingredients. I've also sauteed the scallops in just butter and lemon, adding white wine close to the end of cooking time. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
These were just okay. Sprinkle a little parsley and paprika over them. Use garlic powder instead of garlic salt as the salt will draw moisture out of the scallops. Would be better using sea scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
These scallops are excellent! Also very quick and easy. I go a little lighter on the garlic salt and add a tiny bit of parmesan cheese on top... helps them brown. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
This was an easy recipe to put together and to cook, and it really complemented the flavor of the scallops. I used sea scallops instead of bay scallops. The only difference I found was that mine didn't cook in the 6-8 minute range (it was closer to 10-12 minutes). My husband and I both loved this recipe, but we had to bribe the kids (ages 6 and 4) to eat them (and they are usually not picky eaters). Will definitely keep this one even though the kids may not approve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broiled Scallops

Try these incredibly easy broiled scallops in a butter and lemon sauce.

Broiled Parmesan-Lemon Tilapia

Quick and easy tilapia fillets are broiled with a creamy Parmesan crust.

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

See how to make the perfect, super-fast weeknight fish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States