Broiled Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I made the recipe with no modifications. It was very quick and easy and my husband loved it! For me though, it was just a little too salty. Next time I will either reduce the garlic salt by a teaspoon or use unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
We really liked this dish. I followed someone's suggestion to saute the scallops in butter and fresh garlic (rather than garlic salt) instead of broiling them, and then I served them over a homemade rice pilaf. I then put some fresh squeezed lemon over the top. It was yummy! I do think I will try broiling the scallops next time just to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I should have read through all the comments before making these... I also found them to be a bit bland and kind of soupy. I did make one change, I used garlic powder and regular salt instead of garlic salt, which I don't keep in the pantry. I think these scallops need the boost from the salty garlic salt, otherwise they are just kind of bland. I used a good amount of garlic powder, salt, and pepper, but it just didn't wow me at all. Mine didn't really brown, though I left them under the broiler for several extra minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Hmm mm girlfriend!!! I know I told ya bout these tiny little balls of fish are F-E-R-G-A-L-I-C-I-O-U-S!!! I packed in six...and my girl ate them up like it was nobody's business. Recommend serving with fried okra and if you're feeling fancy throw in a few collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Made just as directed and they came out perfectly! Thank you for a simple yet wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleP
Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Port Hueneme, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
We love this simple healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Lacked flavor. I don't tend to over-season seafood because I want to taste the seafood... but following this recipe as written results in a bland, boring dish. Easy and simple for a dinner for my husband and myself, but I would not serve this to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this recipe because my guests did not show up when i made baked scallops. i had left over scallops.both recipes were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
They were good--surprisingly so. I was skeptical since I started with little frozen "bay scallops". I used some Old Bay with the butter and lemon juice and just broiled for about 8 minutes. will make a gain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
i have made this recipe a number of times and it comes out amazing everytime. it should be noted to use unsalted butter or if all you have is salted to cut the garlic salt in half and replace with garlic powder. Gail's husband is right though, these are considered the best scallops ever in my household as well, and we have a self proclaimed scallop aficionado. even the kids, 6 & 7, love these scallops. simply amazing and worth all 5 stars if you ask us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broiled Scallops

Try these incredibly easy broiled scallops in a butter and lemon sauce.

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Broiled Parmesan-Lemon Tilapia

Quick and easy tilapia fillets are broiled with a creamy Parmesan crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States