Broiled Mochi with Nori Seaweed Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I was very excited to see this recipe! If you make your own mochi, it's even better (i have a mochi machine that kneads the glutenous rice like a bread machine). If the texture of the mochi is like 'hardened glue,' it probably has not been cooked all the way through. My favorite way to eat mochi is the basic way, grilled on the stove, with soy sauce on it. The mochi should be crisp on the outside and very soft on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eriko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Yes, defrost the mochi before dipping it. I've never had to grease a pan, but it might help. Also a toaster oven often works best for this dish because you need very direct intense heat to get the mochi to toast correctly. It should be quite obvious when it's done: it will puff up and the top should be a rich brown. Be careful of burning though, because burnt soy sauce is particularly nasty. You may also wish to serve it alongside additional soy sauce for dipping. If you are new to mochi, please be aware that it can be dangerous if not chewed properly, and that frankly it isn't for everyone. I hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
These are my favorite.. even tastier if you add a slice of sharp cheddar inside the nori.. it doesn't sound very Japanese with cheese but this was how it was served to me by a Japanese lady...!! mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
My mom has a mochi maker and regularly makes mochi at home, especially at the new year. I'm toasting some home made mochi now! Anyway I'm half Japanese mom is full, and we keep ours frozen. We pop them in the toaster oven and it does take a while... i like to wait til the inside pops out a little, thats how i know its cooked through. I usually rest the nori on top of the toaster to get a bit warm and crunchy. Then on a flat plate i put some soy sauce and japanese spice (karashi) and cover the mochi. That way the nori will stick to the mochi, and the soy sauce flavor is all there. After that i enjoy and dip with every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This is my favorite snack. Mochi has to be moistened for seaweed to stick. I always use a toaster to bake mochi. You can find packaged mochi that is not frozen in a japanse grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
Are we supposed to thaw the mochi first? Otherwise it doesn't absorb the soy sauce (not that we'd want it to absorb an entire half-cup anyway). How do you get the nori to stick once the mochi is cooked and dry on the outside? And don't forget to use a non-stick spray or pan, as mochi is sticky stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Use Mugwort flavoured Nori! Thaw it out and ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuddeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thetford Forest, Norfolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
I didn't care for this recipe at all, and neither did my family. I would have given it only 1 star, but I think part of the problem was just in the nature of the mochi cake being so sticky and thick. It was like hardened glue with seaweed. If you like mochi cakes and seaweed, you may like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I didn't bother dipping the mochi in soy sauce before broiling them until they were slightly browned and puffed up. Wrapped it in a piece of seaweed and dipped it in soy sauce - delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States